Book Review: Finale (Hush, Hush #4) by Becca Fitzpatrick

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Release date: October 23, 2012

Rating: 4.5 stars – REALLY ENJOYED IT.

Purchase from Simon & Schuster | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

Synopsis

Will love conquer all?

Nora and Patch thought their troubles were behind them. Hank is gone and they should be able to put his ugly vendetta to rest. But in Hank’s absence, Nora has become the unwitting head of the Nephilim and must finish what Hank began. Which ultimately means destroying the fallen angels – destroying Patch.

Nora will never let that happen, so she and Patch make a plan: lead everyone to believe they have broken up, and work the system from the inside. Nora will convince the Nephilim that they are making a mistake in fighting the fallen angels, and Patch will find out everything he can from the opposing side. They will end this war before it can even begin.

But the best-laid plans often go awry. Nora is put through the paces in her new role and finds herself drawn to an addictive power she never anticipated.

As the battle lines are drawn, Nora and Patch must confront the differences that have always been between them and either choose to ignore them or let them destroy the love they have always fought for. — Goodreads

Read at your own risk. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS.

The fourth installment, Finale, in Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush saga does not disappointment in the least. It was a perfect ending to an incredible and wonderful series! I’m a huge fan of series and Becca’s is definitely in my top 10 all time favorite book series. I had a hard time letting go because I did not want to see some of my favorite characters go, but all good things must come to an end. And like I said I said, I was not disappointed one bit over the ending.

Okay, maybe I was but that’s because she killed off one of my favorite characters! I was hoping that everyone would get a happy ending like Nora and Patch. I was caught between feeling undeniably sad and crying hysterically or crying happy tears. Whatever the case – I assure all you Hush, Hush fans to go pick up a copy for yourselves as soon as you can!

There are so many new and dangerous trials that meet our beloved characters Nora, Patch, Vee, and Scott. Secrets, love, and betrayal come into a drastic play for the novel that will keep you on the edge of your toes. Add action-packed fight scenes and swoon worthy moments between Patch and Nora and you’ve got a book that is unwilling to be put down. Seriously.

Even though, Becca killed of a character or two, (gasp) I admire that she did not hold back by doing so. With great books comes great loss and I felt that Becca did a wonderful job writing such a heart-wrenching scene that then turns into a beautiful and heart warming scene. Becca brings everything into full sight and ties loose ends.

At the end of Silence Nora is plagued with the burden of leading the Black Hand’s army. The decision weighs heavy on her shoulders and as the story progresses we get to see both sides of the war – Nephiliam vs. Fallen Angels. There is the impending struggle for control between old and new relationships that later lead to jaw-dropping twists and shocking betrayal.

The conflicts, secrets, struggles, and danger that follow both Nora and Patch from the very beginning of the story is what kept me captivated as a reader. I was never certain of where and how it was going to go. Any author that can keep me in the dark is one that I thoroughly enjoy reading works from and Becca Fitzpatrick is definitely one of them. At one point of the novel I guessed something that might happen but I was incredibly wrong and when it was revealed my mouth hung open for three seconds and snapped shut after being momentarily taken aback. I grew very fond of Nora in this last book because of her uncertainty and strength. Her thoughts, feelings, and actions were very relatable, reminding me that we all undergo difficult, life altering choices that will shape our future.

I’m walking away from this series knowing that Finale couldn’t have been any better than what I expected. It blew my expectations out of the water with an ending that left me quite content (because of the death) and happy because of the glimpse of the future that our beloved characters will have beyond the pages of the book.

So, if you not have read the conclusion of Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush saga – I seriously advice you to go buy a copy! Be prepare to stay up all night because of it’s captivating hold on you. You have been warned :)

Finally, as a last tid bit, I got a copy of Finale with exclusive content containing Patch’s Lost Letter to Nora, which  you can read here.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. WOW! Amazing review! haha Makes me really want to read it.
    Ahh, I better get my own copy now. Thanks for sharing this, lovely emz! ;D

    Reply
    • You should soooo read the series! It’s AMAZING! I believe it’s the first ever fallen angel book that I started reading years ago :) You’ll definitely fall in love with the male protagonist! :D

      Reply
  2. ILUVKSG

     /  May 19, 2013

    wow i need finale to read

    Reply
  3. Julia

     /  October 17, 2013

    BEAUTIFUL REVIEW FOR A BEAUTIFUL SERIES! I mean wow! I did not expect this. PATCH CAN FEEL! I was left in tears.

    Reply
    • Oh, I know! Gah. I just want to read this all over again and fall in love with him AGAIN. He’s just so ASDFGHJKL. He’s the first fallen angel I’ve ever loved!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

