30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 2

Something you feel strongly about.

There are many things that I feel strongly about, which makes this second challenge a bit more difficult than the first. But if I had to pick just one thing – or in my case, one person – it would be God.

I came to knowing who God is last year. At first, I was very reluctant to be involved in any sort of religious activity because I saw how religion tore people apart. But as I grew to know who God was I realized that religion does not tear people apart or wage war. We. Ourselves. Man. It’s in our nature to argue, to disagree, to make others feel inferior to our beliefs. It is the latter that made me not want to be a part of a church, which my parents and I fought with each other for years. My mom and grandmother had different beliefs. Nana is a Catholic, while my mom was once too, she decided to convert to Christianity. They are the same, but different in ways they practice their faith. That’s it. And yet, my grandmother didn’t like that her daughter turned her back on what she had raised her children to believe.

Seeing their relationship unravel caused me to just hate the idea of church and God and religion. I said some pretty blasphemous things before I came to knowing Him. I realize now that I said them out of spite, because I didn’t know any better, because I was angry for what happened to the relationship between my mom and grandma.

And because part of me also hated Him for it.

That’s also one of things I’ve learned. To not hate God for all the bad things that happened. It’s not His fault. It’s ours. It all goes back to Adam and Eve, when Eve was tempted by Satan to eat from the Tree of Knowledge. Their doubt in God made it so that sin, death, disease, ect. enter the world. There’s a lot of back and forth about who is to blame – Adam or Eve. Men blame Eve. But from my teachings it is Adam that is at fault because it was his duty to protect Eve and he failed.

Anyways, I’m getting a little ahead of myself. I don’t mean to push my beliefs down your throat. If that’s how it seems I sincerely apologize. Before I just go on rambling about nothing and everything, I want to end my musings with why I strongly believe in Him.

I believe in God because from the environment I’ve grown up in and what I’ve learned the past year, it all points to Him having created the universe and sacrificing his only begotten son, Jesus, to save humanity. There are numerous accounts in history that points to it. Even the bible is proven correct historically and scientifically. But that’s all technicality.

From my own personal experience I believe He exists. There’s no doubt in my mind. I’ve felt things when I was in the presence of God. Things that I could never fully explain. There’s this sense of peace and belonging; knowing that there is someone out there who loves me for who I am no matter what I’ve done or what I will do. He knows I’m not perfect or never will be. He doesn’t hold that against me. That’s the greatest kind of love I’ve ever known. And don’t we all hope to have that? Just someone who will love us no matter what. And that’s how God loves us even when we reject Him.

Alright…so I am finished. That was hard. I had to stop myself before I just wrote entire back stories to almost EVERYTHING. But then that would be too much like preaching…which I didn’t want to do and if I did, I sincerely apologize! Today is a very busy day. Going to the Post Office then to the B&N to pick up a book. What will you guys be doing with your day? Oh! And if you guys have your own thoughts of what I said feel free to comment. If you have questions ask them too! I will try to give back answers, but like I said I’m barely learning and might not have them all. Thank you guys for reading this! Hope you all have a wonderful day! πŸ˜€

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh you, look at how inspired you are x) I think it’s lovely you feel so strongly about it, and even more ermm wise (for lack of a better word) that you aren’t cramming your religion down other’s throats πŸ™‚ You totally justified everything you said so eloquently ❀

    Reply
  2. μ΅œλ‹€ν•΄ gongjumonica

     /  December 4, 2012

    Nice to see others in their own monthly blog challenge. I did one last October and I admit it helped a lot in making me comfortable to write.

    I am also a Catholic and it is something I won’t let anyone change or take from me. I am glad that we do not force others to change to our religion, and it is something I am proud of.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

