30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 5

A book you love.

This one is quite difficult. I love reading so it’s obvious that I can’t just have one book I love. Most everything I read I love. Every book I’ve read has shaped me to be who I am. With that being said I think that my favorite book has to be The Vampire Academy. It’s the first vampire series that I started to read. That obsession lead to reading Anne Rice and countless of other YA vampire novels. I remember wanting to be just like Rose Hathaway – the protagonist of the story. Why? Because Rose was strong, passionate, and loyal. She always put others before her and was perfectly capable of taking care of herself. She’s a strong female character. Independent. I wanted to be a kickass Guardian-in-training because I found their undeniable strength and loyalty unmeasurable to anything I’ve ever come across.

Even though I started reading the books a little late (there were 3 books out when I began reading VA), I completely fell in love with the characters and story lines. I’ve read each book at least twice, and every time I read them with new, open eyes. Books never change, but we do. Sometimes, I’ll catch different things that I didn’t realize before. Others I would find myself just completely distraught over a scene that hadn’t before cause such a deep emotional feeling to stir within my heart.

The series ended about two years ago, but thankfully Richelle Mead wrote a spin-off series with other characters we knew but weren’t in the spotlight, having their moment and stories be told. It’s completely different, centering on wholly new trials and tribulations. At the same time, it’s an extension of what I’ve learned to love. When the series ends I could imagine myself just completely empty because it’s over. There will be no more of the characters that have become part of my life like they were my friends.

Saying goodbye is going to be the hardest thing to do, but I’d never forget how much VA has a special place in my heart.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. You know, you and my friend Keevz can probably spend hours talking about how much you guys love this series! LOL She recently told me about it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

