Book Review: Red Madrassa (Algardis #1)

Author: Terah Edun

Publisher: Terah Edun

Release date: November 8, 2012

Rating: 4 stars – ENJOYED IT!

Purchase from Amazon

 

Synopsis

A magical accident threw them together. But when Fate holds all the cards, it can be impossible to tell the difference between pure chance and Destiny…

The Madrassa, a magical school for mage practitioners, is the stuff of legend. With selective entrance exams and quotas for only the most advanced of mage children, it’s almost impossible to attend.

When Allorna, a guardian trainee for the royal family, ends up on the doorstep of the citadel on the eve of the final day of a recruitment ceremony, she decides it must be fate.

She was sure she knew the path her life would take before she enrolled. But sometimes life has a way of throwing in magical curveballs and strange friends, just to see if you’ll trip up.

Oh, and one of those friends is a mage accused of murder, another is a slightly psychotic dragon, the third a healer facing an existential crisis, and the last is a female storm-caller with more hidden secrets than a thief lord.

Do they all belong at the new school they call home?

This book is suitable for ages 12 and over. It is free of nudity, sexuality and only light cursing. The book is inclusive of LBGT and racial diversity. — Goodreads

 

READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. SPOILERS MAY BE AHEAD.

Newly fresh YA voice, Terah Edun, delivers a nice, fast paced read full of adventure, magic, and a wee bit of romance.

I honestly thought that the book was really nicely written. I’m trying to get into the habit of reading indie books because self-published authors deserve some cred too! I was happy and honored to have the author herself contact me, asking to read her book and write a review. I accepted without hesitation because I absolutely love reading everything and anything. With that being said….let’s move on to the review itself.

For the very beginning, I thought that it was a little confusing. It jumped around from p.o.v. to p.o.v and I had to physically take down notes to keep track of the characters. There are 4 p.o.v’s altogether, but it’s written in 3rd person. I felt like at some points the p.o.v’s were the same…while other times they were wholly different, contrasting one another perfectly. Edun’s voice is strong and I liked that because it drove the story, making it a light and fast-paced read.

After I got through the first few chapters of the novel, it got easier to read. I suddenly knew who Allorna, Sidimo, Vedaris, and Sitara were. I saw them as four teenage misfits, kinda running from the law and settling at a magic school. It made it easy for me to see them in that sort of analogy to go forth with the story, which is unique and inventive, all on it own.

If there is one thing I love about stories it’s original plot lines and creative worlds. Edun does not disappoint in that aspect.

The other thing that I liked was the romance part woven into the novel. It wasn’t sappy-first-love, which I detest. I loved that Terah actually takes the time to develop the romance between the two characters. Not going to say who cause it’s SPOILERS, as River Song likes to say. It’s quite refreshing to read that since most of often YA novels consist of “love at first.”

All in all, I thought that Terah Edun’s first novel in her YA fantasy Algardis series was a great start! It definitely introduced a nice handful of characters and built the world in which the story takes place. I’d definitely recommend this to YA fantasy lovers!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. So I’m not the only one who got lost in the beginning ^^ And as you said, the rest of the story was a bit better, but I couldn’t see the red thread, the goal, the purpose. It felt more like some random events. Therefore I didn’t like it as much as you did.

    And as you said the world is very original, therefore I look forward to the next book. With hopefully a better plot and a not so confusing beginning ^^

    Reply
  1. Review: Red Madrassa by Terah Edun | Witchmag's Boekenplank

Leave a Reply

