Book Review: Reached (Matched #3) by Ally Condie

Author: Ally Condie

Publisher: Dutton

Release date: November 13, 2012

Rating: 5 stars – ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS TO PIECES.

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

Synopsis

Cassia’s journey began with an error, a momentary glitch in the otherwise perfect façade of the Society. After crossing canyons to break free, she waits, silk and paper smuggled against her skin, ready for the final chapter.

The wait is over.

One young woman has raged against those who threaten to keep away what matters most—family, love, choice. Her quiet revolution is about to explode into full-scale rebellion.

With exquisite prose, the emotionally gripping conclusion to the international–bestselling Matched trilogy returns Cassia, Ky, and Xander to the Society to save the one thing they have been denied for so long, the power to choose.

CAUTION. SPOILERS MAY BE AHEAD. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Breathtaking. Captivating. Exquisite.

There are so many words to describe how absolutely gripping the conclusion to the Matched trilogy was in Reached. It took me well over a week to finish this book. Why? Because part of me did not want it to end – thanks to Anna, I figured that out. With that said, I read the last few chapters with tears in my eyes because everything was finally coming together. After all the trials and tribulations that Cassia, Ky, and Xander had to go through from the very beginning of their journey, they all find closure (peace?) in some form or another. It was bittersweet.

In the last installment it finally comes down to one final adventure that leaves you speechless and shell-shocked. Ally Condie does not waste any time to put us into the heart of the action. The first few chapters we are struck with a plague sweeping the Society and only the Rising – a rebel group – has the cure. Xander works beside the epidemic as a Physic in Central’s medical building. Ky is a pilot, delivering cures all throughout the cities of the Society. And finally, Cassia is a sorter, masking herself within the Society as a rebel, ready for their next mission.

One of my favorite things about the final book was that Ally Condie wrote the novel in three different p.o.v’s. Xander becomes a new narrator besides Cassia and Ky’s point-of-view, giving the reader a chance to know more about Xander. All the voices are strong and true to each character, allowing us to differentiate between them at any given point within the novel. It’s something that can’t be easily accomplished, but Ally Condie does a beautiful job in achieving that.

Within the society, life has changed – and continues to change, drastically. Cassia, Ky, and Xander become pivotal characters within the story as they each are important in their own way for the cause. For half of the book, we follow Cassia, Ky, and Xander on their own journey. As the reader, we discover unknown fun facts – as I like to call them – about Ky from Xander and so forth. We find out how the two men feel about one another. You’d think that they would hate each other because they are competing to win Cassia’s heart. But it’s not like that whatsoever. Ky and Xander respect one another. That reason alone made me love them even more. For Cassia it was never a struggle of who she would pick because she truly loves them both. I would have had a difficult time choosing one of them. They are each honorable and strong in their own way, but one has always had Cassia’s heart.

(Not going to say who she choose in the end! I’ll spare that spoiler ;))

Apart from the romance, this book is more than just a girl trying to choose between two guys. It’s about freedom, fighting for what you believe in, and so so much more. There are surprising revelations that tie together all three books perfectly, giving me a nostalgic feeling of the past 3 years of reading this trilogy. I absolutely love Ally Condie’s beautiful prose and how her writing is weaved with symbolism. Her writing is evocative and engaging for each p.o.v. that you will not want to put it down unless you absolutely have to – like say doing mundane things like cleaning or eating.

It was a beautiful conclusion to an incredible series. I highly recommend it if you have not read the final installment. I recommend it to anyone who loves dystopian novels. It’s different – as dystopian novles often are – and definitely will not disappointment. If you haven’t read this series whatsoever, I prithee, go forth and buy yourself a copy! You won’t regret it 🙂

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Eeek! I would read the whole thing, but I’ve only read Matched. I’m going to read Crossed next. I can’t wait to read Crossed one because I liked Matched and two because I really want to read your review of Reached.

    Reply
    • Hope you come back to read it! Then we can talk about what happens! 😀

      Reply
      • I will come back. I have Crossed in the palm of my hands, hahaha! So yeah, after I read Crossed, I’m going to read your review of Reached : )

  2. I’ve FINALLY been able to read your review! It’s great and I agree with everything you say in it : ) It really is a different dystopian novel.
    Do you have any other dystopian recommendations?

    Reply
    • I honestly do not. But have you read The Infernal Devices or The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare? There is also the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead that I highly recommend! 🙂

      Reply
      • I’ve read the first books of both of Cassandra Clare’s series’. I’m planning to read the rest of the series soon : )
        I’ll check out the Vampire Academy series. It sounds familiar, so I may have read the first book… thanks for the recs!

      • Oh yay!! Then we’ll have more books to talk about! I’ve only ever reviewed one of Cassie’s books here and it was the hardest thing ever. Eeep! Can’t wait for you to finish her books and read some Vampire Academy!

      • Same here. I’ve only reviewed the Clockwork Angel. Haha, I’ll order some Vampire Academy from my library : )

Leave a Reply

  • Get my posts in your inbox!

  • Currently Reading

  • Emma Gets Involved!

    check back in the new year!

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Follow My Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Disclaimer

    © 2014, Emma @ Books Forget Me Knot. All rights reserved. This site is protected by Copyscape. Please do not copy content. Thank you!
