Book Review: Anew (The Archer’s of Avalon #1) by Chelsea Fine

Author: Chelsea Fine

Publisher: Firefall

Release date: December 7, 2011

Rating: 3 stars – PRETTY GOOD.

SYNOPSIS

Two years ago, Scarlet awoke in the forest alone, afraid, and unable to remember anything. Lost and confused, her life was a mystery…until she met a boy with a familiar voice.

Gabriel Archer has a voice from her past, and Scarlet’s determined to remember why. She immerses herself in his life only to discover he has a brother he’s kept hidden from her: Tristan Archer.

Upon meeting Tristan, Scarlet’s world becomes even more muddled. While she’s instinctively drawn to Gabriel, she’s impossibly drawn to Tristan–and confused out of her mind. As she tries to piece together her history Scarlet realizes her past…might just be the death of her. — Goodreads

SPOILERS. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

I first came upon this book by my friend Anna. She mentioned it in one of our conversations and at first I wasn’t curious. But one thing lead to another and I found myself looking up the book and absolutely loving the cover! Beautiful, isn’t it? I love how her eyes are a startling and vibrant blue, while the background is purple, and her dress is the cat’s meow!

Sorry. I’m still stuck in the 1920’s lingo as I write this.

It’s been two weeks since I finished this book, so I’m going to try to recall my memory and feelings as best I can dolls. There it is again. From the beginning, I found Scarlet Jacobs to be a very likable and strong character. She has amnesia, and it gives her a dreary view of the world. At the same time, she was sassy, which I loved. It gave her narration a fresh, new voice. But as the story progressed, I couldn’t help but be annoyed by her.

For one, I didn’t much like how every time she saw Gabriel or Tristan Archer, she would comment on their appearance. Like, okay, I get it. They are hot. I don’t need to be reminded every 2.5 seconds. Alright, so that was kind of a stretch but it’s just one of the things that I really disliked. It was part of the romance which felt shallow and fell flat. There was one particular instance where Gabriel called Tristan selfish because he was sacrificing himself to save Scarlet and breaking the curse that ensnares him with Scarlet, and Gabriel unable to be loved.

I know, it’s a tad bit confusing; the curse and all.

I seriously wanted to punch Gabriel because what Tristan was doing wasn’t selfish at all. He was being honorable. I believe that he was a great character all throughout the story, even if he was moody and brooding. He acted that way because he had to, to keep Scarlet safe.

The other male protagonist, Gabriel (which by the way, Tristan and Gabriel are twins but have different colored eyes!) was just boring. He was the good brother. I also thought he was selfish and an idiot. Just ignore me because I am sounding mean now. Ugh. He is an immortal along with his brother, Tristian, but they act like regular teenage guys. You’d think that since they’ve been alive for more than 500 years they’d be just a wee bit mature. But nada.

The story is written in third person with three different p.o.v.s – i.e. Scarlet, Gabriel, and Tristan. They were all written very well, each character having their own voice. In some ways it drove the story, making it easy and very fast-paced. But in other ways it fell short and was disappointing. It was poorly executing since the main plot line took too long to be revealed and what we knew (as the reader) became redundant. It was also very predictably, which made the book just…okay.

I am very iffy about reading the remainder of the series. The only reason I want to keep reading is because it was a light and easy read. Plus, I want to know what happens to Tristan after that horrible cliffhanger.

Overall, like I said, the book was OKAY. It just wasn’t something that I completely loved. But alas, when I start a series I must COMPLETE it, unless it’s just down right horrible; which this wasn’t. Come to think of it, I may just read the rest of the series. Maybe it’ll be better!

Positive thinking here!

Lastly, I’ll leave you with some memorable quotes from the novel:

“Life isn’t about the past and the future. It’s about today.” He paused. “It’s about five minutes from now and two seconds ago. It’s moments, you know? Not years. Years aren’t what define us.”

‘You better not be messing with her, because I will kill you. Slowly. And painfully. And I’ll probably start by plucking out your very manly eyebrows. So, be warned!”

“Don’t beg, dude. It’s lame.”

“Gabriel will kill me. And then Scarlet would kill me. And they could just keep on killing me over and over again because I don’t ever die.”

“Yes. Yes, Gabriel. I’m the Grim Reaper. You caught me. I drive around in my car full of weapons collecting souls.”

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Amazing Review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

