Escaping Death (possible covers)

So here I am, bored out of my mind. It’s 11:44 pm and I have to get up and get ready for work at 6. Do you see something wrong here? I know…I know. I should go to bed but I can’t sleep. So instead I messed around in Paintshop with different coloring scripts on a beautiful picture I found. I loved the picture that it reminded me of my story, Escaping Death (which I honestly want to start rewriting this year! I’ve already written the prologue!). My coloring sucks btdubbs. Most of these are blahh. They are awful. But it definitely kept me distracted for half an hour.

 

Escaping Death Samples

I do not own the rights to this photograph. All rights reserved to its rightful owner.

My favorites are 1 and 2. What do you think?

P.S. My main female character, Gwen, is not a red head….but I just loved how vibrant and pretty it looked in the 2nd and 3rd picture.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I would go for number 2. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Second brings out more details.

    Reply
  3. Tough choice, but if I have to choose, I’ll go for no. 2. πŸ™‚ But, can you make the girl, err, “shine”, like no.1? It’ll be better, in my opinion. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  4. erlynneswan

     /  January 6, 2013

    I LOVE the third one. & they’re not ‘blaah’, they’re pretty amazing! c:

    Reply
  5. Honestly, I like #4 the best – the blending just looks more natural and appealing, IMO.
    May I ask where you found the picture? I’m always looking for good sources of stock for book covers. πŸ˜‰ (And if you need advice with anything as far as creating the final cover, just ask – my “door” is always open.) They all look great, BTW.

    Reply
    • You know, your right! I found the picture on google images…I honestly can’t even remember where but if I search it I’m pretty sure I can find it again. Hopefully. It wasn’t a stock photo though. It’s so pretty though! And I’ll be sure to keep that in mind! Thanks so much, Mel! πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Be VERY careful when choosing images for your book covers. Google is NOT a reliable source of stock. If you’re not sure if it’s stock, DON’T use it. We’re talking huge lawsuits if you use something that someone already owns the copyright to. And they don’t care if you’re a poor college student – they’ll make an example of you.

        I know it’s hard to find just the right image for what you want, but you should try to find something you KNOW you can use. Check out Pixabay for public domain photos (some of which are of incredible quality) -> http://pixabay.com/

        I find a lot of great “unrestricted use” images on Deviantart.com -> http://browse.deviantart.com/resources/?q=unrestricted

        And just let me know if you’d like me to put something together for you – I’ll give you a good deal. πŸ˜‰

        Best of luck!

      • Oh I know. That’s why I always put that the pictures don’t belong to me when I make something. I definitely do not want to be sued or anything. That’d be so HORRIBLE. I would probably cry until I die.

        Hehe okay! In the future if I ever do decided to really publish my stuff I’ll definitely have someone to turn to for a great cover! πŸ™‚

  6. 1 fits the story best. πŸ™‚
    Like, I can imagine the title, “Escaping Death” and think, “Whoa, that’s so cool.”
    The other ones are pretty, but they don’t portray the darkness, y’know?
    Love all of them, though. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  7. How crazy is this? I went to check out a friend’s contest on Deviantart and actually found the stock image of the model from your images! πŸ˜€
    Check it out >> http://faestock.deviantart.com/art/Bells-Falls18-89944246
    You can ask her if you can use her stock, but you’ll have to use a different background to make it your own. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • That is actually a great idea! Eeeepp! If I ever do get it published I’ll be sure to ask her permission and find a different stock background xD Hehehe thank you Mel! You are AMAZING! πŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

