Late Night Musing

So other night I couldn’t sleep no matter how hard I tried. It’s at these times that I get sudden bursts of inspiration for no where. It first started out with lyrics that I recorded, which made me cringe because my voice is horrendous. But then it turned into thoughtful (?) musing.

This is what I wondered about, which the recording was still on. It’s 4 minutes and 10 seconds long.

Sometimes, I hear your voice echoing in the wind; lingering like a feather; floating, slowly descending to earth. But when I open my eyes the sound is gone; your voice is nothing but a memory. It’s like its trapped between dreams and reality. Waiting, waiting for the chance to break through, shattering all that I know. There are days where I wonder if you ever existed. Or if you were just a ghost, a distinct fragment my imagination – a thought that my mind created as a sort of barrier; protection from what really was.

But you existed. I know. I see the pictures that others have of you, while I have nothing. I wonder where it all went. How it all suddenly disappeared. I can almost remember the color of your eyes. Green. Hazel with specks of gold. But my memories are fading. That’s why your a ghost. Something that’s there but not wholly, not entirely tangible. I reach my hand out to grasp the pieces that are left, but they go through my fingers. Invisible.

I wonder where you are. I wonder if you ever think of me as I do you. I wonder if we could ever have been.

I can see now that a lot of it doesn’t make sense. Just hearing myself feels odd, like I was in a haze. But I also see where it comes from.

So, have any of you guys had these late night musings? Have any of you just recorded what you’ve been thinking and listened back? Strange, isn’t it?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I usually get my best ideas when I’m trying to go to bed – I think of my stories to distract my mind from the everyday. I usually don’t write them down for a while – I let them stew. Keep playing the scene in my head over and over until it becomes constant, and then I write it down. It is weird how our mind works most creatively when we’re trying to go to sleep. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

