Book Review: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

Author: Taherah Mafi

Publisher: Harper Collins

Release date: November 15, 2011

Rating: 5 stars – I LOVED THIS BOOK TO PIECES!

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

SYNOPSIS

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

WARNING. SPOILERS MAY LIE AHEAD. TIS NOT TOO LATE TO TURN BACK.

I’ve been locked up for 264 days.

The opening line of the novel instantly pulled me into the devastatingly, beautiful world that Tahereh Mafi created. Juliette is a seventeen year old with a lethal gift; her touch can kill anyone that comes into contact with her skin. All her life she’s been deprived of love and treated like a monster. Her parents never cared for her and after an accident where she took the life of an innocent they sent her away to an asylum.

It is there that she meets Adam Kent, her cellmate roommate.

Everything changes from that point.

I honestly don’t even know where to begin to explain how amazingly wonderful this book is. The first night I picked it up to read I read more than half of it. It was just captivating and kept me enthralled. Mafi’s writing is different, a writing style that I’ve never come across. First of, there are actually sentences crossed off. They are things that Juliette truly wants to ask or is thinking but doesn’t want anyone else to know because it’s completely her. I’ve never come across anything like it; its unique and it works.

The way in which Tahereh Mafi writes wholly makes the reader sympathize and love Juliette – the female protagonist of the novel. You can’t help but read with a heavy heart for the wrongs that have been committed towards Juliette because of her power. You’d think that a person who has been persecuted and convicted to be a horrible monster would be just that; a person beyond conscious thought, ready to be a killing machine – just like Warner, the leader of the Reestablishment thinks her to be. But Juliette isn’t. She’s a broken girl but she’s kind, compassionate, and strong in her very own way.

I found Juliette’s character to be realistic, fresh, and raw. I completely fell in love with her and her relationship with Adam Kent, a soldier in the Reestablishment Army. The romance meter for this story was off the charts and I LOVED IT. I’m pretty sure I squealed like a five-year-old girl a hundred thousand times few times. Adam Kent is strong, but also very kind with Juliette, which is something that she’s never known from any other human being. She is insecure and unsure of his true motives for a very long time…but when she is finally certain it is SWEETNESS.

Then there is Warner, a sort of general of the Reestablishment. He is obsessed over Juliette and believes he can get Juliette to join his efforts. He’s cold and ruthless, but deep down there is something more to him. The other minor characters: James, Kenji, Winston, ect. are all excellent side characters for the mains. They showcase Juliette and Adam without losing their own voices, which I liked a lot and enjoyed.

Finally, this book is short of predictability. I never knew what was coming and was completely shocked by a betrayal early in the story. There is a lot of romance in the novel, so if you are a fan of romance YA then this is a book for you. But it’s more than just romance, it’s about a girl finding herself, seeing herself as more than the monster that society has made her believed to be. It’s set in a sort of dystopian world mixed in with a little science fiction. I am SO looking forward to learning more about Juliette’s powers in the upcoming installment, Unravel Me. I honestly can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of the sequel because Shatter Me was truly addictive, intense, and filled with heart-pounding romance that will leave you breathless.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I have heard so many great things about this book, and I can’t wait to read it!

    Reply
    • That’s why I picked it up and finally read it! That and my friend said that I had to read it after I sent her a list of books I had yet had not yet read. It’s really good and I bet you’ll enjoy it! 🙂

      Reply
  2. The ending of this book felt a little like X-men to me, but when I read Destroy Me and Unravel Me, I couldn’t help but love Tahereh Mafi. 🙂

    Reply
  1. Friday Finds #3 – February 2013 New Releases | Bookish Feelings Recorded

Leave a Reply

