Dracian Blog Tour Stop: Book Review + Giveaway!

The Dracian Legacy CoverOver the past several weeks I have been shamelessly avidly supporting The Dracian Legacy by Priya Kanaparti. Today I have the honor of hosting one of the stops of her book tour, right here on the blog!

So let’s get started!

Author: Priya Kanaparti

Publisher: Priya Kanaparti

Release date: Feburary 14, 2013

Rating: 5 stars – I LOVED THIS TO PIECES!

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

SYNOPSIS

Ren and Axel are caught between two powerful magical races: one destined to end the bloodshed, the other out for vengeance.

Seventeen-year-old Ren Pernell is prophesied to end the war between the Dracians and the Telalians. So when a Dracian, Axel Knight, is sent to find and bring back the prophesied one before she turns eighteen and Telalians discover of her existence, unexpected sparks start to fly between the two. Once Ren finds the truth behind Axel’s arrival, she wants everything to do with him and nothing to do with his mission.

Things prove to become difficult as Ren’s life is constantly threatened by the Goarders, humans who sold their souls, a Proxy Succubi, and the leader of the Telalians, who has been searching for her as well.

With the clock ticking and Ren’s life in jeopardy, it is no longer just a mission for Axel. It becomes a personal endeavor to save the only one he’s ever loved. In a heart racing ending, they must find a way to evade the preordained war that won’t also end Ren’s life.

READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. SPOILERS LIE AHEAD. TIS NOT TOO LATE TO TURN BACK.

I am going to try to be as coherent as I can possibly be because this book was…WOW. It wasn’t what I expected at all. With that said, it exceeded my expectations to what I originally thought this book was about. Reading through the synopsis I thought I was going to get an full-fledged fantasy novel. I rarely read them and I’ll tell you guys the truth, I was a little wary.

But oh boy, was I off. Way off.

From the very beginning, Priya Kanaparti introduces the main female protagonist, Ren, with a spunky, strong, and independent persona. I couldn’t help but smile with Ren at the jokes her friends made, blush at Dean’s double innuendo’s, fall in love with Axel Knight, and have a heavy heart while reading the novel. Too say that I was emotionally invested would be a serious understatement.

There are two story lines that intertwine together. The first being the romance aspect in the novel, while the second is the danger lurking around every corner, concerning Ren’s destiny. Personally, I dislike love triangles because it’s just so PAINFUL. Sometimes, both guys are great catches, like in this case between Dean Jensen (Ren’s childhood best friend) and Axel Knight, (the new and mysterious boy who is a magical being). I wanted to hate Dean so much because he was a player. But then at the same time, there were moments where he was sweet and caring when it pertained to Ren. Then there is Axel who just makes me melt into a pile of mush. He is just perfect as a hero ought to be; the epitome of what every guy should be.

I’m a little bias here.

Anyways, moving on. I seriously could talk about those two for ages, but then I’d bore everyone to death.

Most of the story involves the budding romance between Ren and Axel. Since the first time they meet there are indescribable sparks between the two, something that Ren cannot explain. I love how realistic her thoughts were on the subject. She doesn’t understand why she would fall for a boy so fast because well, it’s unimaginable and pretty much unheard of like in some romantic comedy or book. But alas, there is the irony 😉 Which is one of the things I loved about the novel. Ren has inner turmoil with herself ALL THE TIME and I LOVE IT. It’s real and made me feel like I’d say those same exact things if I were put into her situation.

Underlining the romance in the novel, there are Goarders, humans who sold their soul to obtain power, threatening her life. They want Ren, but why? Maybe it’s because Ren is close to Axel and they want to hurt him by hurting the girl he loves or maybe it’s because she’s also a magical being and has a purpose for life and they want to get her to their leader to doom the world. . Kanaparti has a gift when writing the combative and fight scenes. The action-packed scenes are dynamic and very fast paced. Her descriptions are vivid, which made it highly enjoyable to read. Add that to her ability to hold captive a readers emotions and you’ve got a kickass and love-worthy fantasy story.

The only thing(s) that I would have loved to see was Ren’s involvement in the magical world. From the get-go we know that there is something special about Ren. She sees the ghosts of her parents, which sends red flags immediately. Plus, she has to be special (i.e. magical) because of the danger that threatens her whenever she is alone. I felt like her discovery of who she really is dragged a bit. Ren should have figured it out from like the beginning and I wanted to beat her senseless! Ahhhh. But then again, maybe her endearing and passionate romance with Axel might have suffered for it. Which would have sucked because those scenes between the two of them honestly caused my heart to rise with crazy butterflies beating against my ribcage.

Also, I don’t think it would have been as great if she found out the nature of her fate within 10 chapters. So….forget what I said!  Erase those last couple of sentences from your mind.

All in all, this was a really great indie, debut novel from Priya Kanaparti. One of the best indie books I’ve read so far in these past few months. I recommend this to anyone who loves a good YA romance/fantasy. It will send your heart soaring with all the love that is weaved between its pages.

Memorable quotes:

Dean was not in love with himself. He was beyond stalker-obsessed.

Apparently, mentally slapping myself wasn’t enough, so I mentally drop-kicked myself in the gut.

I want us. I want to be your every breath, your every dream, be your everything.

From the first time I saw you, my world has taken a different orbit.

Let’s go before you make me do something illegal and your brother comes after me with a butcher knife. – Oh, he wouldn’t come after you with a butcher knife. He’d come after you with a machine gun or a tank to annihilate your boy parts.

Because you’re mine and sharing isn’t part of my dictionary.

If babysitting you is sad, then I want to be sad for the rest of my eternity.

To learn more about Priya Kanaparti and The Dracian Legacy, visit other tour stops featuring interviews, book reviews, never before seen snippets, and much more!

Writefully so… – Author Interview with Priya Kanaparti

Say It With Books – Review/ Character Interview: Axel & Dean

The Book Diaries – Book Review

Tomorrow features:

Kidbits – Playlists: Songs That Inspired The Story

Fantasy Books – Prologue

Giveaway

  • 3 winners, each get an e-book copy of Dracian Legacy

If a winner had already purchased the book, with a proof of purchase, I’ll buy them another book or give a GC of equal or lesser value of their choosing.

  • 1 winner getting a $15 GC to Amazon or Barnes & Noble
  • In addition I’ll continue to add ONE $5 increment GC for every 150 copies of the book (ebook or hardcopy) sold. So for the first 150 copies sold, I’ll add $20 GC, the second 150 copies sold, I’ll add $25 GC, etc… There’s no limit to how many gift cards I add to the giveaway.

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Emma! Thank you soooo much for such wonderful review for Dracian Legacy AND for your continued support! ❤

    Reply
  1. Blog Tour Shenanigans | Live, Love, Laugh

Leave a Reply

