Book Review: Roar and Liv (Under The Never Sky 0.5) by Veronica Rossi

Author: Veronica Rossi

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release date: October 30, 2012

Rating: 5 stars – LOVED THIS TO PIECES!

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

SYNOPSIS

Before Perry and Aria, there was Roar and Liv.

After a childhood spent wandering the borderlands, Roar finally feels like he has a home with the Tides. His best friend Perry is like a brother to him, and Perry’s sister, Liv, is the love of his life. But Perry and Liv’s unpredictable older brother, Vale, is the Blood Lord of the Tides, and he has never looked kindly on Roar and Liv’s union. Normally, Roar couldn’t care less about Vale’s opinion. But with food running low and conditions worsening every day, Vale’s leadership is more vital—and more brutal—than ever. Desperate to protect his tribe, Vale makes a decision that will shatter the life Roar knew and change the fate of the Tides forever.

CAUTION. TREAD CAREFULLY. SPOILERS LIE AHEAD. TIS NOT TOO LATE TO TURN BACK.

It’s been days since I finished Roar & Liv and it still has an incredibly heart-wrenching impact on me. I knew things weren’t going to turn out okay. I knew. But why read when you already know the tragic events? It’s kind of Romeo & Juliet in this aspect. In the prologue we know that it’s not a happy story and that it will end with death. But we read it because we want to know how that exactly happens.

In Under The Never Sky we are introduced to Roar and Liv’s story. In Through The Ever Night we know a little bit more about what happened to Roar and Liv…but it is completely shattered by what happens to Liv at the end, leaving Roar broken. I knew all this and still I went ahead and read Roar and Liv.

With the Tides food rations running low and conditions worsening every day, Vale, Perry’s older brother and Blood Lord of the Tides, makes the decision to give away Liv to Sable, Blood Lord of the Horns. When Roar finds out he is angry and threatens Vale, the man he swore to protect, Vale gives Roar a choice: stay and suffer the consequences or leave and live a life of exile. It’s not a hard choice for Roar. He stays and is willing to suffer whatever punishment Vale may inflict.

But Perry steps in and takes the punishment for him.

Perry.

I was literally crying my eyes out because…it was so loyal and brave of him. But it was also heartbreaking because of what he’s been through.

Those circumstances did not change Vale’s decision. Liv was still going to marry Sable. Period. After careful consideration Vale agrees to let Perry and Roar to take Liv to the Horns. They are accompanied by two of Vale’s men, not entirely trusting his brother and Roar. During their journey, we feel Roar’s pain, doubts, and hopes unfold, making it a widely captivating short story.

I couldn’t get over the fact of how things…happened. That was the most jarring and enticing part of the story. My heart broke a million times over because of Through The Ever Night. Roar’s voice was real, strong, funny and compassionate. I completely fell in love with Roar. I couldn’t help myself.

There were vivid details of his past before he ever came to the Tides and his relationships with Perry and Liv. He cares for both of them so deeply and irrevocably. His feelings for Liv striked me the most, sending an arrow straight through my heart.

Veronica Rossi is a brilliant author. Plain and simple. I wasn’t expecting the story to be told from Roar’s perspective and in first person! Her work is written in third person perspectives, but it didn’t change how I felt about the story itself. I loved it like a child loves their most treasured teddy bear. To say that it captured my heart would be a severe understatement. It could even be considered a disappointment because I’m selfish and wanted MORE. But it wasn’t a disappointment, not in the least. Roar and Liv was full of romance (heart-wrenching and otherwise), laced with heart-pounding action, and was unforgettable love story that will left me utterly breathless.

Memorable quotes:

If I have to lose everything to keep her, I will.

Right. Which is why I was thinking you should propose to Vale that he loan you to other tribes as a breeding stud. He could make some money from your services and it would keep the two of you apart for long stretches of time. And I think the benefits, to you, are obvious.

You were dropped on your head, Roar! A hundred times! It’s the only possible explanation.

I understand the risks, Liv. And I’m willing to take them. For you. For us. I choose you. Above everything else, I choose you.

I’ll let her go. I’ll let Sable have her. I’ll do anything, as long as she lives.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

