The Love Game Blog Tour Stop: Book Review + Playlist!

tour banner

Today I bring you a review and playlist for The Love Game by indie author, Emma Hart! The Love Game is categorized as New Adult (NA).

Author: Emma Hart

Publisher: Emma Hart

Release date: March 29, 2013

Rating: 4.5 stars – I REALLY ENJOYED IT!

Purchase from: Amazon | Amazon UK | Kobo

SYNOPSIS

His challenge? Make her fall in love with him.
Her challenge? Play the player.
Until life changes the rules of the game.

Maddie Stevens hated Braden Carter on sight. Arrogant, egotistical, and the playboy of the University of California, Berkeley, he’s everything her brother Pearce has taught her to despise. So why, when the girls challenge her to play the player, doesn’t she say no? She doesn’t know either.

Braden wanted fiery little Maddie the second he laid eyes on her – and he’d do anything to have her, hence why he’s agreed to make her fall in love with him. After all, it’s the only way he’ll get what he wants. Sex.

But, as Braden discovers, there’s more to the girl from Brooklyn than he ever imagined – and he can’t help but care about the broken girl behind those pretty green eyes.

Maddie finds Braden isn’t just a walking erection – he actually has feelings. He can be sweet, funny and his good looks don’t exactly hurt. That means trouble – but when her brother Pearce turns up in Berkeley begging for her help, she realises Braden and Pearce aren’t so alike anymore.

And maybe, just maybe, they’re exactly what each other needs.

FOR READERS 18+. SPOILERS MAY LIE AHEAD. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

So as many of you know I come from Wattpad – an online writing community website. With that said, I was a little wary to dive into The Love Game by Emma Hart. Why? Well, a lot of stories on Wattpad are badly written GIRL PLAYS PLAYER stories. They are HUNDREDS of them and are overly cliche, which is one thing I absolutely detest as a reader.

I was pleasantly surprised with Hart’s unique spin to an overused story line. I think I may have even fallen in love in the process, just like the main female protagonist, Maddie Stevens.

It all starts with a game in which both Maddie and Braden are involved with unknowingly to each other. As the story progresses, we get to see both characters slowly change.

Braden isn’t just your typical chauvinist pig. He actually has a heart buried underneath his sexual exploits. His character honestly unnerved me at the beginning. He was just your average frat guy, partying and having sex with whatever had a pulse. Okay, so not everything..but yano. In a way, Maddie indirectly changes him. He starts to have feelings where he genuinely cares about Maddie. These moments were the times where my opinion of him began to change.

Then there is Maddie. She’s strong, witty, and broken. There are secrets that she has buried and left back in Brooklyn. But when life throws you curve balls, you can’t exactly dodge them. Maddie didn’t realize that the one person who would be there, as solid as a rock to keep her afloat, would be the person she thought she hated. Along the way…Maddie’s opinion of Braden also changes and she starts to see that she’s losing the game.

I thought that the shift in POV’s would ruin the momentum of the story. I was reminded of Wattpad and when the changes of p.o.v’s occurred they were redundant. But Hart managed to keep the story moving by using this particular writing style. I loved how both Maddie and Braden slowly began to see each other as more than just a game. You could see the changes in their behavior and their thoughts. At first they fought it with every fiber of their being, but it became too REAL to ignore. This aspect in the story speaks volumes of realism.

One of my favorite things about The Love Game was the witty, humorous lines the characters gave. There was also the tangible amount of realism to the story. The novel is told from two p.o.v’s: Maddie and Braden’s. I found Braden’s perspective real and not “girly” whatsoever. At first, I was a little unhinged by the amount of curse words thrown in, courtesy of Braden Carter. After a few chapters I got used to it and found that it was one of his specific traits that I liked.

The other thing I REALLY liked was the fact that it was cleverly and nicely written. I just want to hug Emma Hart for that fact and making me see that not all PLAYER stories are awful.

Then there are the steamy scenes involving Braden and Maddie. All I can say is….HOT. Wow. I think I blushed a couple of times…which I have to applaud Emma Hart for. Only good writer’s can bring forth those kinds of FEELINGS.

Overall, I was really lucky and fortunate to receive an ARC for The Love Game. I read the majority of the novel in the car on my road trip this passed weekend and it definitely kept my mind occupied. I couldn’t stop reading it for a second! It kind of also reminded me of John Tucker Must Die, where the girl sets out to play the resident player. But like I said, Emma Hart brings a new spin to the GIRL PLAYS THE PLAYER story line. The Love Game is a page turner, filled with wit, humor, sweetness, and is downright sexy.

I definitely recommend this lovely gem to readers 18+ as it does have explicit content and language. You’ll just LOVE it. I promise.

PLAYLIST

ABOUT EMMA HART

Author Photo

By day, Emma Hart dons a cape and calls herself Super Mum to a terrible two year old and cooking baby, due September 2013. By night, she drops the cape, pours a glass of wine – well, tropical juice now – and writes books. She likes to write about magic, kisses and whatever else she can fit into the story. Sarcastic, witty characters are a must. As are hot guys. She’s working on the companion novel to her latest release and NA debut, Never Forget (Memories #1), and The Love Game (The Game, #1) will release on March 29th. She likes to be busy – unless busy involves doing the dishes. Ironically, that’s where most of her ideas come from. Her debut YA series, The Mauve Legacy, is an Apple iBooks Bestseller – and this makes Emma excited.

PLACES TO STALK EMMA

Blog | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. *cringe* it does look like a Wattpad story, right down to the cover. The inner photoshop nerd in me cringes a bit at grey-scale picture + red text.

    Reply
  2. But I shall go read it. Because I like asshole characters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

