Book Review: Clockwork Princess ( The Infernal Devinces #3) by Cassandra Clare

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: McElderry Books

Release date: March 19, 2013

Rating: 5 stars – I WILL LOVE THIS BOOK UNTIL THE END OF MY DAYS!

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million

SYNOPSIS

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?

Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.
A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her. — Goodreads

MINIMUM TO NO SPOILERS LIE AHEAD. READ FORTH MY LOVELIES!

I have never read a book where I’ve laughed, cried, been unbelievably giddy, and had my heart ripped out of my chest all in a matter of seconds within each page. But Cassandra Clare’s final installment in The Infernal Devices series, Clockwork Princess, takes the gold and a very special place in my heart. It is undoubtedly one of my all time favorite books to have ever been written in the world. Just thinking about it all brings a fresh wave of tears as I say goodbye to a beloved series.

They aren’t just characters on a page, they’re friends who I have grown to know and adore. The level of my emotional state while reading Clockwork Princess was off the radar.

One minute I was giddly happy like this:

tumblr_m1wzh3OOQf1r2e1lj

Then, the next second I was a complete and utter mess. Kind of likes this:

tumblr_m6ijbycBwn1rsrbj9_large

And finally I was left like this:

I constantly say in my previous reviews that a good book brings forth raw emotion upon it’s readers. Clockwork Princess did that. It actually takes the gold on ailing my poor heart with all kinds of feelings that just made me ridiculously happy, but also broke a piece of me.

It’s been a few weeks since I last finished the series and I still cannot let go of how I felt. It’s unreal. To say that I was not emotionally invested in this book would be a serious understatement.

Okay, so I’m now going to stop myself from rambling on about my feelings and get to the basis of the book and how brilliantly written it was.

Clockwork Princess is written in various 3rd person p.o.v’s, which added to the level of closeness and familiarity the reader had with the characters. For the first time in the series, we got to hear from Cecily Herondale and Gabriel Lightwood. Two new voices and surprisingly, important characters to the series.

The novel begins a few months after the events of Clockwork Prince. Tessa is trying on her wedding dress, when Gabriel Lightwood comes to the London Institute with terrible news. His father has turned into a demon. And not just any demon – a ghastly worm.

This event throws the London Institute Shadowhunters into action and ultimately brings them to a clue about Mortamin’s plans. Tessa is the key to his plans and Will and Jem will do anything to keep her safe.

One of the things that I really loved (and it’s probably my favorite thing) about Clockwork Princess was the character development. Tessa has grown immensely throughout all three novels. She isn’t that fragile and shy girl we met in Clockwork Angel. She’s fiercely loyal and strong.

Then, there is Will Herondale who is one of my fictional loves. I just love him. I love how noble, infuriating, cocky, funny, and selfless he is. He denied himself happiness for so long that I just wanted to hug him and tell him everything is going to be okay. Will is faced with inner turmoil over his love for Tessa and his undying loyalty to Jem in this novel. It’s not easy being in love with your friend’s fiance but he manages to keep himself in control of his feelings most of the time. He has grown so much; from the boy who was sarcastic and only showed tenderness towards his Parabati to a guy who slowly begins to come out of that hardened shell.

Next is Jem Carstairs, Will’s parabati and best friend. Recent developments endanger his life and Will and Tessa will go till the ends of the earth to save him. There are certain parts within the novel that I just absolutely admire Jem. He’s brave and strong, and much like Will, unselfish. There is a surprising twist to Jem’s character that you will just love and not believe. But it’s so cleverly ingenious that you are left incredulous.

The character dynamics/ relationships within all the characters is just FANTASTIC! I really got that sense of being there, watching it all unfold in front of my eyes. I just LOVE LOVE LOVED the relationships. It’s what made me giddily happy and took some of that disheartening stress away from perilous events. I received my copy of Clockwork Princess with the family tree. But by the angel, DO NOT READ IT UNTIL YOU FINISH THE BOOK.

I absolutely loved every single character, even Jessamine Lovelace redeemed herself from what she did in Clockwork Princes. Every character is vital and it’s one of the things that I adore. Henry Bramwell is a genius. He’s the reason why Shadowhunters have the devices they do in the modern world, which is brilliant on Cassie’s part to have intricately woven that concept in this series.

That’s how important small details matter. Cassandra Clare is the Queen of integrating small things into her novels that eventually become very important things. We find out a lot revelations like how the Herondale mark began, the mystery behind Tessa’s lineage, and why Alec (from The Mortal Instruments) has blue eyes. They are truths that have always made me think, and I’m very happy about the results. EXTREMELY HAPPY.

Also, I really liked how Tessa defeated Mortmain. That was clever. Genius! It was simply done, but I loved how her gift played a part in it.

Lastly, there is the epilogue. I LOVED IT. I honestly loved it to pieces. It broke my heart, I was sobbing uncontrollably reading it and then I was happy for Tessa and *insert character name here*. There is a lot of debate over the epilogue, but in my opinion, it was the best and most beautiful way that Clare could have ended the novel. It was just…PERFECTION.

If you are a fan of the Infernal Devices series and haven’t read the final installment, READ IT. If you love books, READ THIS SERIES. It’s just purely magical. You’ll fall in love with characters and Clare’s uniquely and addictive writing style. It’s just absolutely, amazingly, brilliant.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Eeek!!! I’m FINALLY reading “Clockwork Princess!”
    The copy I received from the library has the family tree on the book jacket and I can’t even look at it!!! Grr, why do libraries have to put all that tape on the book jacket?!? Oh well. Maybe I can find a picture of it somewhere…

    Reply
  1. Tears On My Pillow | Summer Lovin’ Read-A-Thon: Day 4 | Books Forget Me Knot

Leave a Reply

