Goodbye April, Hello May

How did this happen? How are we already in the month of May? It’s kind of disconcerting how quickly it passed on by. Also, my birthday is 12 days away! Ahhhh. That fact snuck up on me. I’m going to be 20. TWENTY. Can’t I just be a teen forever? I need to go and find Peter Pan so I can never grow up with him.

With the start of a new month, I want to star a new segment on my blog called “Month Favorites” where I showcase books, t.v. shows, movies, ect. that I absolutely adored in the previous month (in this case April). The idea for this came from watching vloggers on Youtube, showcasing their monthly favorites.

So let’s get started!

Favorite Books

School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins

Why I Loved It: The story line, although a bit fluffy, was fantastic! I enjoyed every minute of it and could not put it down. Plus, I was cheering for Izzy all the way through the story. It was quirky, humorous, romantic, and surprising. I was shocked to learn some of the revelations in the story because I never saw or predicted that outcome.

Rachel Hawkins does not disappoint in this spin off of her Hex Hall series. I honestly can’t wait for more of Izzy’s adventures next year!

Looking For Alaska by John Green

Why I Loved It: This was my first EVER John Green book. It’s also a book I will never forget. The story was just so raw and real. It mesmerized me from the get-go as I followed Pudge’s life Before and After a certain life changing and tragic event. Everything about this novel was thoroughly addictive and beautifully written. I’ll definitely be reading another of John Green’s books soon!

Let The Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

Why I Loved It: I really loved the creative and unique world that Messenger creates in LTSF. It’s devastatingly beautiful. The story istold from two p.o.v’s: Vane and Audra’s. I really like this affect as we get to see what goes on in their minds; their fears, their worries, their feelings and motivation. It’s all done so well and I sympathized for them as they both faced difficult decisions and try to survive from the Stormers and the threat that is Raiden. This story is filled with humor, heart-pounding action, and romance, which is everything that I absolutely adore in a story.

I’ll be posting a full review of this novel soon so keep an eye out for it!

P.S. Isn’t the cover gorgeous??

The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

Why I Loved It: I really liked how I could relate to Audrey McCarthy. I remember my senior year of high school, worrying about college, writing essays for scholarships, ect. I also wished I could be Audrey and I honestly haven’t felt that way about a character in a very long time. I also loved the relationships in the novel. And…I also fell in love with a certain boy *cough* Aiden *cough*. I mean, can you blame me? He was sweet, quiet, geeky, and just *sigh* I’m all for bad boys, but lately I’ve been loving the sweet and good guys in novels. Aiden was no exception.

To read my full reviews of School Spirits, Looking For Alaska, and The Boyfriend App click on their covers 🙂

Favorite Music

At the beginning of the month I was completely and irrevocably in love with Safetysuit. I constantly played their album and kept it on repeat. So much so that I now know all of their songs. One of my absolute favorites is a cover of Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen. My favorite part is at 2:56 – till the end.

 

I have also adored a fan mix of Eleven and Clara, You Steal Me Away, created by claraoswald.

Click on the album to listen to the entire playlist!

Favorite T.V. Shows

Doctor Who

I have been loving Doctor Who thus far. Ever since Clara joined Eleven, well ever since Eleven found Clara again. Every episode has been action packed, heart-warming, and pos-it-tute-ly brilliant! It’s definitely a show I highly recommend to all of you. It has a little bit of everything that most anyone would find it enjoyable.

Sailor Moon

The next show that I have become obsessed with is…Sailor Moon! O kay, so I know this is quite old. It’s from my childhood and I have rekindled my love for the show ever since I found a set of links for Every. Single. Episode. Not to mention links to the movies. This new obsession began a week or two ago. Since then, I have watched 90 episodes, including the movie Promise of a Rose. The episodes are incredibly cheesy and predictable, but I love it nonetheless.

Favorite Movies

Les Miserables

I finally had a chance to watch Les Mis and…WOW. That’s all I can say. It was just so heartbreaking and absolutely beautiful. The cast was AH-MAZING. I love musicals and this is definitely going on my list of all-time favorites. It also made me want to pick up my copy of Les Mis and read it. I’ve been wanting to, but it’s quite meaty and frankly, it scares me.

I know, it’s silly to be afraid of a book. But it’s HUGE.

In any event, if you have no seen this movie, I urge you to do so. It’s beautifully done and the incredible amount of talent in the film is awe-inspiring.

Well, that’s about it for my April favorites. What were your favorite things in the month of April? Share your thoughts in the comments below 🙂

P.S. As you can see, I did survive my packed-to-the-brims-no-fun-weekend-filled-with homework-and-deadlines. It looks like this weekend will be the same. Thank you for all who encouraged and gave me hope. Plus, I loved all the song suggestions! I made a study playlist that I really love!

With love always,

Emma

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I love how you have broken down your favurites for the month. I’ve not read any of those books but many are on the to-read list. And as a Doctor Who fan – I really need to get into the current season. It looks fantastic! Hope May is as good to you as April was. 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh my gosh…you are going to love DW. The beginning of the season is really heart breaking….especially after a certain episode. But I love his new companion 🙂

      And thank you! Hope you have a fabulous month as well!

      Reply
  2. Les Miserable was just amazing! The story line was just gripping and it wrenched my heart at certain parts. I literally wept to see Marius cried! Oh my God, that was so sad when he’s awake to see his friends were gone. Ahhh, I want to cry again now. 😥

    Reply
  3. Check out my blog tomorrow am going to be discussing The Crimson Horror and whether it is the best 11th Doctor story to date

    Reply
  1. Book Review: Let The Sky Fall (Let The Sky Fall #1) by Shannon Messenger | Books Forget Me Knot

Leave a Reply

  • Get my posts in your inbox!

  • Currently Reading

  • Emma Gets Involved!

    check back in the new year!

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Follow My Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Disclaimer

    © 2014, Emma @ Books Forget Me Knot. All rights reserved. This site is protected by Copyscape. Please do not copy content. Thank you!
