Book Review: The Forgotten Ones by Laura Howard

Author: Laura Howard

Publisher: Laura Howard

Release date: April 30, 2013

Rating: 3 stars – IT WAS GOOD.

Purchase from Amazon

SYNOPSIS

Allison O’Malley’s plan is to go to grad school so she can get a good job and take care of her schizophrenic mother. She has carefully closed herself off from everything else, including a relationship with Ethan, who she’s been in love with for as long as she can remember.

What is definitely not part of the plan is the return of her long-lost father, who claims he can bring Allison’s mother back from the dark place her mind has gone. Allison doesn’t trust her father, so why would she believe his stories about a long forgotten Irish people, the Tuatha de Danaan? But truths have a way of revealing themselves. Secrets will eventually surface. And Allison must learn to set aside her plan and work with her father if there is even a small chance it could restore her mother’s sanity.

MINIMAL TO NO SPOILERS LIE AHEAD. YOU MAY TREAD FORWARD WITHOUT CAUTION YOUNG WARLOCKS.

An ARC copy was provided by the author in return for an honest review.

Can we first marvel at how beautiful this cover is? ^^ I just love everything about it. From the beautiful gold scripture to the captivating portrayal of Allison on the cover. I love how beautifully simplistic and wonderful it turned out. I had been coveting this novel for months (because of the beautiful cover) and when I saw the author ask on FB if anyone would like to have an ARC copy in exchange for a review, well, I jumped at the chance.

The story revolves around twenty-one year old, Allison O’Malley. She leads as normal a life as she can with loving grandparents and her mother, who suffers from mental illness. For most of her life, Allison has had to sacrifice (in my opinion) having a life. She’s withdrawn and shy, especially when it concerns her life time crush Ethan. When her long, lost father returns, Allison discovers the truth behind her mother’s illness and about the secret power surfacing within her.

I thought this book was good. It may even land in the category of “okay.” By the end of the novel, all I thought was, “Well, that was anti-climactic.” It ended on a sort of cliff-hanger; the revelation already known a chapter or two before the conclusion of the story. It was just:

There was, of course, things that I really liked about the novel. I really liked the unique spin on faeries and the Irish lore involved within the story. I’ve never read a faerie story that involved Irish mythology and I thought it was a cool concept. I like reading new and different things, which instantly grabbed my attention. It was good, but I  thought that it could have been developed a little more. I felt like it was a bundle of washed clothing thrown in my face with the perpetrator running away and not explaining why they just did that. Odd analogy, I know.

When Allison finds out the truth about the Danaan from Liam, her father, the story takes a sudden spin – like someone hit fast-forward on the remote. Things began to happen way to fast for my liking. I understand the domino effect of Liam’s presence, but I just thought that Allison was too quick to believe anything he said. There was never a “doubt” phase for her, which would have made it believable.

As the protagonist, I thought that Allison was okay. There wasn’t anything striking or memorable about her. Okay, I take the latter back. She was memorable in the sense that she annoyed me when it concerned Ethan. GAH. THE BOY TRIED SO HARD TO WIN HER HEART BUT HE COULD NEVER CATCH A REAL BREAK. I just wanted to reach out and shake some sense into her.

Ethan is your typical bad boy. Sorta. He definitely reflects that typical persona of a player. But for some reason he has always had his heart set out on Allison. He’s reliable and loyal. He always there for Allison whenever a crisis happened concerning her mom. I liked that about him. He was a good guy besides that front he put on involving other girls.

As for secondary characters…well, I thought they weren’t relevant to the overall dynamic of the story. The characters who come into play in the second portion of the novel do play a significance importance, but those in the beginning…not so much.

Lastly, the plot line was good. I liked discovering the truth about Allison’s mother and what happened to her mind. I liked the small twist at the end involving Liam and the faerie who entrapped him in the mystical land. I did not see that coming and that was definitely an interesting revelation.

Overall, The Forgotten Ones was a relatively good read. I liked the unique spin to faerie lore and mildly interesting plot line. I’d recommend this to those who are seeking to read something different and don’t mind reading something fluffy (?).

P.S. This novel is currently a FREE ebook on Amazon, so why not? There’s nothing left to lose! 🙂

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Eep! A free Kindle book! (Have been downloading practically all I can find!)
    Thank you for the wonderful review! 😀

    Reply
  2. 최다해 gongjumonica

     /  June 18, 2013

    A free ebook! I must get it then. I wonder if it is still on promo now. Better check 🙂 I am not sure if I want to read this one after your review. Plus, I dont like too sad yet realistic stories 😦

    By the way, I moved my blog. Please check out my new http://gongjumonica.com/ on its soft-opening. Please follow and subscribe 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

