Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Author: John Green

Publisher: Dutton Books

Release date: January 10, 2012

Rating: 5 stars – I LOVED THIS BOOK TO PIECES!

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Despository

SYNOPSIS

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

TREAD CAREFULLY DEARIE. SPOILERS MAY LIE AHEAD. ‘TIS NOT TOO LATE TO TURN BACK.

Deeply moving, The Fault In Our Stars, is a story that will live on with you forever.

Today I started and finished a journey with Hazel Grace. It hasn’t even been an hour since I read those last words written in the novel, and yet, I write this because the story is still raw and freshly engraved into my soul.

The Fault In Our Stars is Hazel’s story, a story about a girl who is terminally ill with stage IV cancer. Her world is shaken up a bit when a new boy joins Cancer Kid Support Group. Augustus Waters is handsomely charming, charismatic, witty, and alarmingly funny. He is a survivor, with a prosthetic leg and with an intellect that immediately interests Hazel. Thus, begins their star-crossed story filled with moments of unprecedented giddiness and happiness, but also heart-wrenching pain.

First, let me say that I picked up this novel because I was having a terrible reading slump. The two books that I was currently reading, that I had not read in two days, didn’t seemingly intrigue me. I needed something. Something different from my normal book reads. That is why I chose one of the few contemporary novels sitting on my shelf, and needless to say, it was a wise decision and I do not regret it for a second. I spent most of the day reading and enjoying this story, so much so that as I write this, there are still fresh tears matted on my cheeks.

There’s something striking and beautiful about John Green’s writing. It’s raw and fresh and deeply moving. It strikes a deep resonating chord within one’s being and it’s just so painfully beautiful.

I loved Hazel Grace from the beginning. She’s extremely intelligent and honest. She never once compromises her beliefs, her morals. There are often times within the story where she disagrees with Augustus and tells him so. I loved that about her because it’s so different from most female contemporary MC’s. Her love for An Imperial Affliction resonates deeply to any reader who has every loved a novel so much that it becomes a part of your story. Hazel is also strong and so very realistic. She doesn’t rile her thoughts with hopes of a cure. Because there will never be one. There are only ways to prolong her life. And she knows this. Yet she lives her life and she lives it the way she wants to. I never once pitied Hazel because she never pitied herself and that for me shows true heroism and strength. Have I also mentioned how incredibly witty she is? She’s just amazing and one of the strongest female characters I have ever read in my life.

This (the wittiness) of course comes into play and seen often with the dynamic relationship between her and Augustus Waters. I couldn’t help but like him (and grow to love him) from his stage entrance into Hazel’s world. He’s incredibly charismatic and funny. Gus offered those moments of comic relief that burst full of vibrant color and was a stark contrast in the event of tragedy. As a reader, I needed that and John Green does it seamlessly. Augustus also get’s Hazel in ways that no one has before. It’s one of the reasons why I loved him so much. He managed to steal her heart (as well as mine) in the small time that he had with her.

I also liked the dynamic between Hazel and her parents. It was really endearing and heart warming to see the relationship she had with her mom and dad. I chocked up a bit in those times where she was alone with each of them and shared a special moment of comfort and strength. With that said, I also very much liked the relationship she had with Gus’s parents as well. Lastly, I liked the friendship she formed with Issac before, during, and after Augustus.

As an English major, I loved the bursting use of literary terms used within this novel. There are universal themes of death – of remembrance – that we often, as human beings, think about. They are deeply embedded into this novel, especially at the end where things get rough; when the battle is nearly over. There is also a lot of metaphors (due to Augustus’s character) that I just *sigh* I just loved it so much, okay.

There are so many wonderful things about this novel that I thoroughly enjoyed. If I hadn’t then I wouldn’t have finished the entire book in less than 12 hours. My advice? Whenever you have a day off and need something different to read, pick up this book. Go on Hazel’s adventure of love, happiness, loss, and grief. Become widely profound by the beautiful litany of themes, characterization, and wonderful writing that John Green brings to us. Deeply moving, The Fault In Our Stars, is a story that will live on with you forever. It will gnaw at your heart strings and make you appreciate those small infinite moments in life.

John Green may never see this but I thank him nonetheless, for giving us Hazel’s story, and allowing me to know and also fall in love with Augustus Waters.

Last, but certainly not least (as there are so many things to say about this story), there is a fan narration of Augustus Water’s letter to Peter Van Houten that I would love to share with you. Even if you have not read it, I think it’s haunting beautiful. Dylan Shipley capture’s Augustus’s voice so well and brings his character to life. I listened to it before I read the novel and cried because it moved me. I had known prior to my reading TFioS the gist of what happens. But as I always say, knowing and experiencing something are to different things. I may have known what happens to Hazel and Augustus, but I did not experience it until now.

With that said, I leave you with the narration. Which you can listen to here. Go on. Click it. Let me know what you thought of the novel (if you’ve read it) and the narration if you choose to listen 🙂

xx

Emma

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Waah~ I want to read this but afraid that I won’t be able to stop crying!

    Reply
  2. oh my gosh, this narration is gonna make me cry all over again – gorgeous. (And I’m SO SO SO glad you liked the book!!)

    Reply
    • I totally cried again. His voice just captures Augustus so well. And I am so glad I did too! Definitely a book that stays with you forever.

      Reply
  3. Books, Tea & Me

     /  June 20, 2013

    This book was deeply moving. I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did, but even now, more than a year later, I’m still shivering over Hazel’s story. What a beautiful review! Sadly, I don’t think my review on this book can quite compare to yours, but you’re more than welcome to check it out if you like (http://booksteame.com/2012/02/29/the-fault-in-our-stars-book-review/).
    Do you plan on reading anything else by John Green now?

    Reply
    • I do plan to read some more of his work. I’ve read Looking for Alaska. I really want to read Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Paper Towns. How about you?

      Reply
  4. This is on the Richard & Judy reading list that I am sorting out to complement the 1001 books challenge will be prepared and have tissues ready by the sound of it

    Reply
  1. Goodbye June, Hello July | Books Forget Me Knot

Leave a Reply

