Simply Sunday #2

simply sundaySimply Sunday is a reading meme hosted by Books For a Delicate Eternity. It’s where you share your favorite quote; be it from a book movie, novella, song, ect.

My favorite quote this week are lyrics from a little band we all know: Coldplay.

Look at the stars

Look how they shine for you

And everything you do

Yeah, they were all yellow

 

I came along

I wrote a song for you

And all the things you do

And it was called ‘Yellow’

 

So then I took my time

Oh what a thing to’ve done

And it was all yellow

 

Your skin, oh yeah, your skin and bones

Turn into something beautiful

D’you know? You know I love you so

You know I love you so

Why I Chose It

This song has been stuck in my head for the last week. Part of the reason is because I’m on a hunt to find a female radio cover of this song that plays at work all the time. Sadly, I have not found it and it’s driving me mad. I absolutely love the cover and the way the artist embodies the natural beauty of the lyrics. I really like covers because an artist usually changes the sound and overall feel of the original song. Even though, I absolutely love Yellow by Coldplay themselves, the unknown female artist does a wonderful job making it her own. I may even like it more than the original.

There’s something beautifully haunting about the lyrics themselves that strike a chord in me. I love meaningful music and the lyrics are just deeply riveting. It’s a love song and by far one of my all time favorites.

What was your favorite quote of the week? Let me know in the comments below! Or if you have posted your own Simply Sunday, share the link. C’mon, don’t be shy! 🙂

xx

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Coldplay is awesome. And I agree with you about covers! Some people hate them, but I like the new flavour they bring to the song. They can make one of your favourite songs new again, it’s brilliant 😀

    Reply
  2. While it dates me, it’s one of my favorites, especially when one looks back as you are prone to do as you get older. This is from a song titled “Bookends” by Simon and Garfunkel back in the 60s…

    Time it was, and what a time it was, it was
    A time of innocence, a time of confidences
    Long ago, it must be, I have a photograph
    Preserve your memories, they’re all that’s left you

    Reply
  3. This is a wonderful song. 😀
    My favourite from Coldplay would be The Scientist.
    And as for the “girl cover,” I have a cover a girl-cover of that song on my iPod. Could this one be it? Her name is Alex Parks.

    Reply
    • I love that song too! 🙂 And that cover isn’t the one I am hearing a lot at work. It’s a little bit more modern. Like I know it’s recent yet when I searched on iTunes and Youtube nothing comes up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

