Class Orientation | Summer Lovin’ Read-A-Thon: Day 1

ClassOrientation2 Ello lovely people of the internet!

Today is the first day of the Summer Lovin’ Read-A-Thon hosted by Reviewing Wonderland. I am so excited for this summer event as it is the first of it’s kind that I have ever participated in. I love that this read-a-thon is themed after Grease! It’s pretty darn brilliant!

Sign-ups to join in on the fun are still open. So if you want to participate just head on over to Read-a-Thon Central and add your name to the list!

So first order of business is an….INTRODUCTION!

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Emma. Well, it’s kind of an alias. That’s not my real name. You can find out the reason over at my About Me page. I am 20 years old, but still very much a kid at heart. I love reading (if that wasn’t already obvious) and writing. I have a little book buying addiction, but that has stopped because I’m saving my checks to go to VidCon with my best friend. I guess it’s not really an addiction if you can stop at a moment’s notice. But it does make me sad that I can’t buy more babies (that’s what I call books)!

||

1. Where are you blogging from?

I am blogging from Sin City babeh! I live in Las Vegas, NV – currently 108F degrees. It’s almost 9 p.m and it’s still hotter than the desert. At least, a desert cools down at night. Although, I live in Sin City, there isn’t anything remotely “cool” that I do. I’m a homebody. I like staying home and go out to the movies or dinner. Normal things. One good thing about being raised in Vegas is that you aren’t tempted to go gamble (not that I’m old enough to do so) or go crazy. I’ve known too many people who have lost everything because they’ve gambled it away or have been too drunk to notice. That doesn’t particularly interest me.

The great thing about Vegas is that I get to meet people from all over the world! I’m getting quite good at knowing where people come from based on their accents. It’s a little game I like to play at work 😀

2. Why did you start blogging/reading?

I’ve always liked to read when I was younger, but my passion for reading didn’t ignite until I was a sophomore in high school. I love that feeling you get when you read a book and are completely captivated by the writing that it’s hard to put it down. You lose yourself. Many people say that it’s an escape, and it is very true in that sense. I started to read to get away from my life and the problems I faced during that time. Sort of like a coping-mechanism. It then turned into something that I truly loved to do on a daily basis.

I started blogging because I wanted to start something new. This was actually supposed to showcase my writing works, but it quickly turned into a book blog 😛

3. What is your favorite genre?

My absolute favorite genre has to be a tie between YA paranormal/supernatural and YA fantasy. I love the two because the worlds and characters create are uniquely creative and beautiful. It’s magic. I love reading things that are unique and different and this genre offers it the best, in my opinion.

||

My reading goals for the Summer Lovin’ Read-A-Thon is to read as many books as I can within the week. I’m hoping to finish at least 2 books this week. I’m nearly done with my current read so I may finish reading 3 books this week if time allows it! Work seriously puts a drag in my reading time!

  • I plan to finish The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead (tonight).
  • Read and finish The Program by Suzanne Young.
  • Start Beach Lane by Melissa Del a Cruz.

So that is it! I am completely ecstatic to be a part of this and can’t wait to join in on all the fun activities! Hopefully I full-fill my reading goals this week *fingers crossed*

xx

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Good luck. I know what you mean about work, I need to find a job that lets me read all day!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Good luck with your reading goals! That “The Program” looks interesting!

    Reply
  3. Ooh, did you like The Program? I’ve been trying to get my hands on it, but my bookstore says I’ve gotta wait a week or so before the shipment comes.

    Reply
    • I just started reading The Program today and I really like it so far. There are some things that I’m kind of like “eh” about, but I like how different it is. Gah! Why must shipping take so long?? Let me know when you get it! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Now that I’m 24 I actually want to go to Vegas, but only to gamble. I don’t care for anything else that comes along with Vegas! I want to read all 3 books that you’re reading! I loved Vampire Academy from Mead!

    My Day 3 post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

