Look At Me, I’m Sandra Dee | Summer Lovin’ Read-A-Thon: Day 3

Today’s participation post for the Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon is all about favorite fictional female characters. I have 4 top favorite female characters. Starting with my absolute favorite…

1. Rose Hathaway from the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead.

What I love about Rose is that she is fiercely loyal and strong. When I was sixteen, I dreamed of being Rose. She was the epitome of what I wanted to be. Beautiful. Bold. Strong. Independent. She’s what I aspired to be every day and still do. I’ve always put my friend’s first and am always there for them when they need me. I’m always a phone call or a text away. They know I’ll always be there and that is a quality that Rose has. No matter what is going on with her life, she is willing to put it on hold for others. She thinks of her friends’ first and then herself. She also taught me that it was okay to be selfish when it was for love.

I’m really looking forward to see Rose come to life in Zoey Deutch. I believe she’ll be an excellent Rose and capture her essence perfectly.

2. Tessa Gray from The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare.

Oh, Tessa. This is an easy explanation. Tessa’s love for books mirrors my love for them. She treasures books and what they offer. She is my spirit animal.

I also love that Tessa is loyal and kind. She never once thinks bad of anyone even when they’ve wronged her and her friends. That’s a very admiral quality to have and I really like that about her.

3. Sydney Sage from the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead.

Sydney is incredibly brilliant. Gah. I wish I was Sydney sometimes. I wish I was logical and witty. She’s also extremely brave. I love how Sydney is blossoming into a different person than who she was when we first meet her in Blood Promise. I think that’s why I like her so much because she shows how a person can change given time. We don’t stay who we are for long. Experiences change us.

4. Hazel Grace Lancaster from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.

Finally, we have Hazel. One of the main things that I love about Hazel is her strength and brilliance. She is terminally ill with Stage IV cancer. Never does Hazel complain. Never. She didn’t make me pity her, which is something that a cancer story may thrive on. But not Hazel’s story. No. Her strength to live to the fullest is inspiring. She is grateful for what she has and never once takes for granted the numbered days that she has. When horrible things happen people most often forget about the good and dwell on the bad. But Hazel kept moving forward and I admire that deeply.

So those are my top favorite fictional female characters. Loyalty, forgiveness, intelligence, and strength are qualities that I love seeing in fictional characters. They are things that Rose, Tessa, Sydney, and Hazel share and it’s why I love and admire each of them as they were my own friends.

Who are some of your favorite fictional female characters? Let me know in the comments below! Or if you’re also participating, leave a link! I’d love to go and check it out! 🙂

The Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon is hosted by Reviewing Wonderland. It’s not too late to sign up! Just head on over to Read-a-Thon Central before July 6th!

xx

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Rose and Tessa are two of my favorite characters too. I feel like they are totally different but i can still relate to both of them. I never read bloodlines unfortunately so i am not familiar with Sydney. Hazel is wonderful as well, it is great that you picked her as one of your favorite female characters.

    Reply
  2. Love your choices, I think all four of those heroines are fantastic. Only just discovered Hazel-Grace.

    Reply
  3. AHHH Hazel-Grace! Perfect choice 🙂 As well as Tessa Gray! I haven’t read the other two book though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

