Tears On My Pillow | Summer Lovin’ Read-A-Thon: Day 4

Today’s Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon topic involves sharing a book that has tugged at my heart strings mercilessly. This discussion is perfect. Why? Because how many times do I talk about my FEELS? How many times do I ramble and die? A lot, I tell you.

I have one book in particular that I have in mind for this. One that has forever given me a book hangover. One that I will never ever forget.

It is…

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

This book was a work of literary perfection. It was flawless and had a great ending to an amazing series. There were so many instances where I was dying of FEELS concerning the characters in Clockwork Princess. Whether it was from Cecily and Gabriel, Gideon and Sophie. Will and Tessa. Jem and Tessa. Gah. Just everyone! The dynamic between the characters is absolutely captivating and you can’t help but cheer them on. Or if you’re me, squeal in complete and utter giddiness.

There are a multitude of moments within the novel that just crushed my soul. IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE NOVEL THERE ARE DEFINITE SPOILERS HERE. SCROLL DOWN TO SAVE YOUR INNOCENCE. When we find out that Jem is no longer Will’s parabati…that killed me. I just couldn’t believe it and I was very much in denial. Then there is the scene with Jess and Will. I thought Jessie was going to be okay and then…Why must Cassie toy with my emotions like that?

Then there is the utter turmoil of who Tessa must choose, Will or Jem. She loves them both and they are both perfect in their own way and so honorable towards one another. It’s one of the best love triangles I have ever had the pleasure of reading.

Finally, there is the Epilogue. The Epilogue. Oh….just thinking about it is making me cry…

I think the reason why this book makes my heart hurt so much is because there will never be another after. It ends on a bittersweet note and though many of the characters got a happy ending, there is still that heartbreak left over what happens.

Here are some of my absolute favorite quotes from Clockwork Princess. Some are funny, while others just gnaw at your heart.

And now I need you to do for me what I cannot do for myself. For you to be my eyes when I do not have them. For you to be my hands when I cannot use my own. For you to be my heart when mine is done beating. – Jem Carstairs to Will Herondale

Life is a book, and there are a thousand pages I have not read. I would read them together with you, as many as I can, before I die -”
She put her hand against his chest, just over his heart, and felt its beat against her palm, a unique time signature that was all its own. ‘I only wish you would not speak of dying,’ she said. ‘But even for that, yes, I know how you are with your words, and, Will- I love all of them. Every word you say. The silly ones, the mad ones, the beautiful ones, and the ones that are only for me. I love them, and I love you.’ – Will Herondale and Tessa Gray

‘You don’t think I can fight.’ Tessa said, drawing back and matching his silvery gaze with her own.’Because I’m a girl.’
‘I don’t think you can fight because you’re wearing a wedding dress’, said Jem. ‘For what it’s worth, I don’t think Will could fight in that dress either.’
‘Perhaps not,’ said Will, who had ears like a bat’s. ‘But I would make a radiant bride.’ – Will Herondale, Jem Carstairs, and Tessa Gray

‘It’s all very romantic,’ Gabriel said, and then frowned. ‘Or it would be, if my brother could get a word out without sounding like a choking frog. I fear he will not go down in history as one of the world’s greatest wooers of women.’ – Gabriel Lightwood about Gideon Lightwood

To read my full thoughts of Clockwork Princess just click here 🙂 If you know me, then you aren’t a stranger to my love for Cassandra Clare. Personally, I prefer and love The Infernal Devices series so much more than The Mortal Instruments. If you haven’t read her work then I highly recommend it. She’s one of my favorite authors and I will probably be an old maid with seven cats, still reading her books involving shadowhunters until I die warm in my bed. Hopefully.

Wow. That was a bit morbid…

||

The Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon is hosted by Reviewing Wonderland. It’s still not to late to sign up and join in on the fun! Just head on over to Read-a-Thon Central and add your list to the roster!

Read-a-Thon goals:

The Indigo Spell: COMPLETED

The Program: 40%

Beach Lane: UNTOUCHED

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I actually teared up a bit at the end of this book! Let me tell you, that does not happen to me often.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Get my posts in your inbox!

  • Currently Reading

  • Emma Gets Involved!

    check back in the new year!

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Follow My Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Disclaimer

    © 2014, Emma @ Books Forget Me Knot. All rights reserved. This site is protected by Copyscape. Please do not copy content. Thank you!
