Book Review: The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3) by Richelle Mead

Author: Richelle Mead

Publisher: Razorbill

Release date: February 12, 2013

Rating: 5 stars – I LOVED THIS BOOK TO PIECES!

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS

In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch–a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood–or else she might be next.

TREAD CAREFULLY DEARIE. SPOILERS MAY LIE AHEAD. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

The Indigo Spell is a faced-paced, magical read that will keep you spellbound from start to finish.

I’m at an utter lost for words. The Indigo Spell was just…completely spellbinding. I don’t know why I waited so long to pick up this book even though I preordered it a week or two before it was released. I should have read it sooner and if it wasn’t for my friend Sue, pushing me to read this ASAP…well, then I think it may have sat a little longer on my shelf.

In The Indigo Spell, Sydney finds herself in a swirl of conflicting emotions. One in particular is due to Adrian Ivashkov, a vampire moroi, who is undoubtedly in love with her. As Sydney struggles with the inner turmoil of her heart, she also struggles with thoughts about the magic within her. All her life Sydney has believed that magic and vampires are evil, yet, the more time she spends with Jill, Adrian, Eddie, and Angeline, Sydney questions those beliefs – the Alchemists beliefs. When she finds out a deep and buried secret that the Alchemists are hiding with the help of Marcus Finch, Sydney is unhinged and makes an ultimate decision that changes her life forever.

I completely LOVED this book. There were so many instances where I just died of FEELS over Sydrian (the shipper name for Sydney and Adrian). The dynamic relationship between them is just perfection. Adrian understands Sydney in a way that she’s never fully known. Sydney in turn, begins to see Adrian differently and has an undeniable attraction towards him even if she denies it. I couldn’t help but root for Sydrian, and at the same time wishing that I had my own Adrian Ivashkov. Though, I think I’d want to hit him a lot because of his sarcastic wit 😉

When it comes to characters, Richelle Mead is a master craftsman(craftswoman?). She always finds a way for every character to be significant. In The Indigo Spell, she does it again with Marcus, Sabrina, and Wade. They each play a significant role in Sydney’s story, even if it small. Those small details turn into huge plot twists that are unforeseeable. I am usually good at guessing startling revelations, yet I could not see the big ones coming in The Indigo Spell, except for one concerning a pair of love birds.

Marcus Finch wasn’t what I was expecting nor Sydney for that matter. I liked how he was disappointing, because it was realistic. How many times have you thought something of someone just to be let down? He wasn’t a total lost cost, but well…you’ll just have to read and see!

For the other characters, needless to say, I loved them all! I love Jill, Eddie, Angeline and Trey all in different ways. Even though they did not play a huge role in this novel’s plot, they provided a really good secondary plot line. I love the “love triangle,” (even though it’s not technically a love triangle) between Eddie, Angeline, and Jill. Poor Jill just doesn’t seem to catch a break in the love department. And Eddie. My poor babeh.

Let’s just say that things happen! 😉

I know. I’m a terrible tease.

Moving on!

When it comes to the main female protagonist in Sydney Sage, I absolutely adore her. She is logical, extremely brilliant, resourceful, and well, human. To clarify, I mean that she is entirely realistic. Her doubts, her fears; it’s all tangible. I particularly like her bouts of denial. Her feelings are so raw and real that I completely understood and sympathized with her. She doesn’t know what to do about her feelings towards Adrian. She knows that it’s forbidden; an alchemist and a vampire. She might as well ship herself to re-education. Even though she knows that it’s wrong, she has doubts about her beliefs; beliefs that she begins to see as their beliefs.

Sydney has grown so much between Blood Promise, where we were first introduced to her, and now in The Indigo Spell. Her character development is one of the best that I have ever had the pleasure to read and keep looking forward to seeing her further blossom into person she is destined to be.

Lastly, I also really liked that she embraced her magical talent during this novel, and am really excited to see how she has magical potential. Is it because of the golden lily on her cheek that caused magic to rise within her – because the tattoo has magic embedded in it? Or is it something entirely different due to her heritage? I don’t know…but I can’t wait to find out in future installments!

Then there is Adrian Ivashkov. *cue swooning* He’s one of my fictional boyfriends, in case you didn’t know. I have signed up to be an honorary member of the AYE frat and don’t look back.

You guys totally thought I forgot about him, eh? But I saved the best for last!

Adrian has come such a long way from that guy that gotten his heart broken by Rose. He just continues to grow, just like Sydney. We see how crushed he is in Bloodlines, but that all changes when he sees Sydney. When he truly sees her. The love that he feels for Sydney is nothing compared to how he felt about Rose. Adrian let’s Sydney know how he feels and he is denied by her, but he doesn’t lose hope. He knows that deep down inside Sydney feels something for him and he’s not going to give up.

He’s also undeniably loyal. He is always there for Sydney no matter the strife going on between them. He will always be there for her, and that’s a quality that I love about him. Adrian is also utterly sexy and witty, and just…HE’S JUST MY FAVORITE OKAY. BRB WHILE I DIE A LITTLE INSIDE.

Adrian delivers some of the best lines in The Indigo Spell that are just completely…*sigh*

Here are some of my favorites:

You’re not as much of a lost cause as she was. I mean, with her, I had to overcome her deep, epic love with a Russian warlord. You and I just have to overcome hundreds of years’ worth of deeply ingrained prejudice and taboo between our two races. Easy.

I’ll just love you whether you want me to or not.

You’re my flame in the dark. We chase away the shadows around each other.

Those don’t even tip the iceberg. There are so many more, but that would require a separate post involving All-Things-Adrian-Ivashkov.

The Indigo Spell is a faced-paced, magical read that will keep you spellbound from start to finish. I completely adored it and am so looking forward to The Fiery Heart due out in November! It’s so CLOSE, yet so FAR.

If you haven’t read this next installment or haven’t read this spin-off series, then I urge you to do so! It’s amazing and you’ll fall in love with old and new characters. Plus, Adrian totally wants you to *uses powers of compulsion on you*

xx

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. IM CRYING EM
    YOUR REVIEW IS PERFECTION YOU FEEL ME

    Reply
  2. lol, I loved this as much as you did and Adrian’s my favourite VA man, yes I like him even more than Dimitri Belikov! I don’t know when that happened, but it happened.

    Reply
    • He is slowly taking Dimitri’s place too! For the longest I wanted my own Dimka and now I want an ADRIAN! 😉

      Reply
  3. Adrian, Adrian! *does some kind of sacrificial ritual dancey dance*

    Reply
  4. I’ve never read this series, but I always see this book. I guess I’ll have to check it out!

    Jess

    Reply
  5. I completely loved The Indigo Spell as well! This series is now one of the best series I’ve ever read. I can’t wait to find out what happens in the next book!! 🙂

    Reply
  1. The S.S. Sydrian | My Infernal Imagination

Leave a Reply

  • Get my posts in your inbox!

  • Currently Reading

  • Emma Gets Involved!

    check back in the new year!

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Follow My Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Disclaimer

    © 2014, Emma @ Books Forget Me Knot. All rights reserved. This site is protected by Copyscape. Please do not copy content. Thank you!
