Book Review: Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1) by Kasie West

Author: Kasie West

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release date: February 12, 2013

Rating: 5 stars – I ABSOLUTELY ADORED THIS TO PIECES! !!

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

SYNOPSIS

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. SPOILERS MAY LIE AHEAD. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. 

A gripping new voice in young adult fiction – Kasie West delivers a fresh and riveting fantasy story that will leave you wanting more. 

This book was purely magic! It was MAGIC, I tell you! !! I have had this book sitting on my shelf since March when I went to the Yappiest event in Disney. Anyways, I put on the back burner not really knowing if I should read it, but being berated (not really) by my friends to read it.

Needless to say, I didn’t regret it for a second and I am completely and utterly excited for the sequel Split Second to be released soon!

I won’t bore you with my own summary of the novel because the synopsis is self-explanatory. In Addie’s world there are people who have special abilities like telekinesis, clairvoyance, ect. She lives in a hidden compound in the mountains where people who have gifts live separately from the “Norms.” Within the compound, those with abilities learn to develop and expand their gift. Those who live on the outside don’t have an ounce of knowledge that people like Addie exist.

The story is told from Addie’s p.o.v. in first person present tense. Every chapter is split between two alternate paths, which I found really interesting and fresh. I’ve never read something like this, in which a girl has the power to see two possible paths based on a decision. It sounds like it would be confusing, but West’s writing easily flowed with no awkwardness.

Each chapter also began with a word and it’s definition. Every word held emotion and was a glimpse to what may lie ahead in the chapter. This was one of my favorite aspects of the novel, to see that West took her time in finding the right word to integrate to each chapter with clarity and depth.

Addie Coleman was an interesting female MC. I really liked her and at times, found that I related to her.

When I read, I feel emotion all on my own. Emotion no living person is making me feel. To me, it almost seems more real; because I know those characters can’t influence me with any power.

I think any person who is a lover of books can relate to the above ^^ I know I did. Addie is also sort of sassy and her own person. She doesn’t let anyone dictate her life, and even when they do she speaks up. She alone has the power to make a decision, and sometimes that is hard, especially when she has to decide to live out a bad possibility to steer clear of a worse one. Lastly, I really love how she is kind of quiet and witty. All in all, I really loved Addie and found her character refreshing and enticing! Her voice is what drives the story and it’s what essentially made me love this book.

Pivot Point also holds two possible love interests in Duke and Trevor. I loved them both (at first) but in the end only one boy completely wins my heart, err Addie’s heart. Duke is the quarterback for Lincoln High. He’s also the most popular guy in school. Trevor used to be a star football player until an injury put him on the bench permanently. Between the alternate futures, we (the reader) see how her relationship with both Duke and Trevor blossoms. I really loved how both guys were pivotal in some way in each of Addie’s possible futures. Their purpose wasn’t just as a “love interest” but offered more to the story. They fueled lies, startling revelations, and danger.

Last but certainly not least, are the side characters. They were fan-tab-olous! I loved Addie’s best friend Lalia and even Rowan. There was something cute and endearing about him even though Addie thought he was a total creep in the beginning. Lalia, on the other hand, is a force to be reckoned with, but I liked her nonetheless. Much like Trevor and Duke, Lalia and Rowan offered a further drive in Addie’s story, making it steadily progress into heart-pounding revelations and action.

Pivot Point was and is possibly one of my favorite reads this month thus far. I read it in 3 sittings and found myself devouring the pages with interest and intrigue. A gripping new voice in young adult fiction – Kasie West delivers a fresh and riveting fantasy story that will leave you wanting more. I highly recommend this book to all you bookish lovers! It is a new series that you’ll thoroughly enjoy! And maybe just like me, you’ll be dying to have the sequel in your hands the next second!

Kasie West has also gained a new fan in me! I have her newly released contemporary novel, The Distance Between Us, thanks to my friend Crystal! I can’t wait to sink into it! 😀

P.S. Pivot Point is on sale on Amazon for only 1.99! Definite e-book bargain! !!

||

I know that I haven’t been that active in the last few days. I’m practically breaking my back working just so that I could have a nice mini vacation in Anaheim next Thursday. I’m going to VidCon and then Disneyland/California Adventure! I’m super stoked! But alas, working 4-5 days a week is killing my reading/internet time!

I’m hoping to have another (late) review up tomorrow. I also have a lot of cover reveals and blog tours lined up!

Hope everyone is having a great day/night! !! Stay cool.

xx

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I will read this after I rad the book. I am too afraid to be spoiled. XD

    Reply
    • Sorry Francine 😛 It’s not too many spoilers xD But yay! Hope that you like the book! !!

      Reply
      • Great review! 😀 I also like how the chapters started with a word and it’s definition. Following the two paths was really awesome too. I love the characters. This is a great book! 😀

      • You already finished it? Francine you’re such a fast reader! I’m glad you liked it! Can’t wait to see what you thought of it 🙂

      • Yeah. I finished it in one sitting just a few hours ago. I definitely loved it, and I’ll write up my thoughts soon. 😀

  2. This sounds so awesome!

    Reply
  3. Whoa! That sounds really different. The chapters showing what would have happened had Addie made another decision??? I need to read this. NOW!!!

    Reply
  4. I’m SO happy to hear you liked it that much! It has been on my TBR list for awhile and I was able to snag it for $1.99 on Amazon a few weeks ago. Now I just need to read it! 🙂

    Reply
  5. This review makes me SO KEEN to read this book. Seriously. I have never heard of a book that jumps into the future in two paths because of one decision – that sounds so epic 😀
    I loved that quote about reading, and if the whole book is written like that, it will probably become one of my favourites, as well!

    Reply
  1. Goodbye June, Hello July | Books Forget Me Knot

Leave a Reply

