Creatura Blog Tour: Book Review, Excerpt, & Giveaway!

Author: Nely Cab

Publisher: Nely Cab

Release date: August 6, 2013

Rating: 4.5 stars – I REALLY, REALLY ENJOYED IT!

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

SYNOPSIS

Isis can control her dreams. Or she could—until recently. The creature in her nightmares has been haunting her for months. As if being dumped wasn’t bad enough, now she dreads going to sleep. She decides to confront the creature and win back some of her peace; only, she finds that he’s not a monster and he’s not a dream.

A sacrifice for love, a shocking discovery and a jealous ex-boyfriend blur the lines between reality and dreams, making it hard to tell who the real monsters are.

Who would’ve known…that sometimes love is lethal?

WARNING: SPOILERS MAY LIE AHEAD. DON’T SAY I DIDN’T WARN YOU.

After reading the synopsis I thought that this book would be a typical YA book with no originality whatsoever. The blurb just seemed too bland and didn’t really catch my attention. This is a perfect example of a hidden gem. Creatura was more than just a typical YA novel. Aside from the content itself, the writing was great! I really fell in love with the dialogue, granted by David. It was swoon-worthy, okay?

In Creatura, Isis is plagued by nightmares that are too real and forthright frightening. There’s a creature that stalks her dreams and it isn’t until one night that she decides to confront the creature where everything changes.

Love is a major aspect in this novel. Forbidden love. I really liked that it was a central focal point for the novel because 1) I haven’t read a book that was centered around love in a while, and 2) it wasn’t overly cheesy. Isis tries to not like David, who is the creature from her dreams and also turns out to be a thousand year old deity. That kind of information could really put a damper on someone’s relationship. Their love wasn’t instant nor was it normal. It was gradual, which is why I liked it. It was real and probable. Well, as possible as it could get 😛

I also very much liked how Isis set her foot down around David. Where other girls would have completely lost their footing around David, Isis held her ground. She’s a strong girl, especially when it concerned his charm.

One of my favorite things about this novel was the character development. Most (if not all) of the characters were unique in their own right. They flourished and blossomed as the novel progressed. It should be noted that David was one of my favorites, even if he is a tad-bit corny. There’s something about old-timey-wimey speech and character that just makes my heart swoon.

One last aspect of this book that I really enjoyed reading was the family theme centered around both Isis and David. It was real and made me think of the bond I have with my family. That closeness was what made the novel concrete and more than just a story. The emotions and rawness that Cab was able to convey is extraordinary! In part, Cab’s writing is absolutely beautiful. There is never a dull moment. Everything is described beautifully and so fully that I envisioned the scenes playing in my head like a movie.

All in all, I really loved this book. It was different from anything I’ve ever read with just enough romance, mystery, and mythology to spice up any reader’s night! It’s a definite MUST-READ! !!

EXCERPT

In my dreams, he watches me. Haunts me. He’s the cause of my nightmares, and the dread of my nights.

My name is Isis Martin, and I’m seventeen years old. I suffer from a sleeping disorder. After three months,

I’m finding it difficult to function on one or two hours of sleep per night.

Today I’ve got another session with Dr. Jameson. He’s my best friend’s dad and the only psychiatrist in

town. He suggested I start a journal to release my stress and maybe one day I’d be able to sleep again.

He says my recurring dream is only a reflection of my anxiety to sleep, but there’s something that tells me

he’s wrong.

***

I had always been able to control my dreams. I don’t know how, but I could. In my sleep I discovered

worlds that only existed in my imagination. My favorite was a poppy field where the sun rested over the

horizon frozen in time for no one else but me. The meadow with the odd shaped tree that I had named

Infinity was my private haven and my emotional sanctuary. In that far away land, night never came and

day never broke. It was the place where tears did not fall and worries did not exist…until the nightmares

began.

***

“You’re proposing a wager?”

I nodded.

“If I win, you’ll leave my dreams forever,” I said.

He gazed at me for a moment. Maybe it was just my imagination, but I thought I saw trace of a grin on his

face.

“If I should win, you will believe I am not a dream,” David said.

“If you say so,” I snickered. “I guess this is goodbye since I’ll be winning.”

“And…” he said

“There’s more?”

“And…you will never again come here.”

“Okay,” I said. “Fair enough.”

“And…” he said again.

“That’s too many ‘ands’.”

“And…” he continued, “I bid you not farewell, but good morrow.”

David tipped his head as he disappeared, leaving behind a cloud of golden dust.

Like what you read? Be sure to add Creatura to your Goodreads TBR list!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Nely CabNely Cab was born on December 9, 1974, in Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico. She has lived and resided in a small, quiet South Texas town most of her life. Putting her Computer Accounting skills to use, Cab worked in banking for several years. In 2001, the author relocated to Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico, where she dedicated time to the study
of culinary arts and the art of oil painting. After her return to the U.S., Nely resumed her employment in banking and later transitioned to the field of Social Work. Today, Nely Cab writes from the comfort of her home, where she lives with her husband and son. Her life goal is to check-off Bucket List Item No. 95,623,351: To Conquer the World. While she aspires world domination, Nely continues to work on her debut series Creatura.

PLACES TO STALK NELY

Amazon Author Page | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads | Blog | Website

GIVEAWAY

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win:

  • A Print copy of Creatura
  • $25 Gift Card
Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks, Emma, now I have another reason to read this book (and not just because of the pretty cover!).
    I’m glad to hear that it’s not your typical YA novel, and that the romance was gradual (no insta-love is always a plus). I love books about weird dreams, so I really want to get my hands on a copy of Creatura! 😀

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much for being part of the tour! Love your blog, btw. x

    Reply
  1. LIVE Book Tour – Creatura by Nely Cab

Leave a Reply

