Drawing Inspiration

I used Grammarly to grammar check this post because the time spent proofreading could be time spent preparing for the zombie apocalypse! 

Writing stories isn’t an easy thing to do. Writing good stories is much harder. If it was easy than anyone could do it. Everyone on the planet would be successful for their creative and imaginative story telling skills.

Inspiration is an important process in writing. As an aspiring author, I yearn for creative outlets. I don’t want to write or do something that has been done before. I want it to be different. I want it to be good. With that in mind, I am stuck in a perpetual cycle of…well, I don’t exactly know what.

I don’t want to call it writer’s block because it’s not really writer’s block if it’s lack of inspiration.

I’ll be honest. I’ve been lazy. I don’t know when it happened, but it did. I don’t feel a drive to write anymore or continue writing stories that I loved in the first stages of its creation. I lost my inspiration, which ensued laziness. Since, I’ve made no attempt to get it back.

But that changes today. Using a variety of different writing prompt sites and creative suggestions from my friends, I am finally getting back on the horse.

Metaphorically speaking.

Writing prompts let writers get their creative juices flowing.

In fact, it was a writing prompt given by an author that began my current finished WIP, Walking Dead.

As a Tumblr addict, I really like WriteWorld’s Tumblr account. Every day they have a writing prompt. It’s either an image or a song selection. The objective is always:

Mission: Write a story, a description, a poem, a metaphor, a commentary, or a critique about this picture/song.

I really like this because you can virtually write about anything that fits the theme. Every person is different, thus, creating a multitude of variations from one photograph or set of lyrics.

I’ve done a few short stories that encompass an objective and I’ve found them quite helpful in drawing inspiration.

Another widget is NaNoWriMo’s Dare Machine. My friend Ramsia has suggested its use to me on various occasions. What you do is hit the DARE button and have a prompt refresh on the web page. Some examples of writing prompts are:

Write a scene where one character betrays another.

Include real dialogue that you overhear in a public place.

Make one of your characters believe in a conspiracy theory.

It’s simple and fun. You also have the choice to chose to either stay with the current prompt or skip.

Lastly, there is the age old way of looking up prompts on the vast world that is the internet.

My friend Anna actually made a shortcut for me. For my birthday, she sent me butterfly note cards (among other fun stuff!). Inscribed on them were all sorts of writing prompts.

Three examples are:

Write a romance about two tenants in a building who are madly in love with one another, but never meet face to face.

Write a story using all of the following: a waitress, a morgue, an abandoned notebook full of strange writing.

End a story with this sentence: Alison looked wistfully at his severed head before leaping out the window.

I should put good use to them and actually start a short story or something. The thing about writing prompts is that they are a gateway to inspiration. You never know if a prompt may ignite a spark of inspiration that will lead to a story you never knew you were searching for.

If you’re like me in any way; a lost soul, searching for a little inspiration, fret no longer. Try writing prompts. You never know. All it takes is a single spark.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. AMAZING! I really enjoyed this 🙂 I think i’m going to check out the tumblr and start doing some of the daily tasks.

    Reply
  2. This sounds great! I have several stories that I’ve started and not finished (they all currently reside neatly stuffed in two boxes, haha). I’m going to have to try these writing prompts! 😀

    Reply
  3. Great resources!!! One thing I have found to be increasingly true is something Jack London said: “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.”– that is, even IDEAS are work. I think if you sit down with the intention of creating ideas– even if it’s away from the computer, and just writing down the first 10 things you think of and imagining a relationship between some of them– you can do it every time. Like writing, you just have to work at it!

    Reply
  4. Thank you so much for the mention, Emma! 😀 I also love the Tumblr link you’ve provided, and your friend is so thoughtful (all those prompts! Wow!) Lovely post, extremely informative, and I can’t wait to see what amazing plot-lines, characters, and worlds you create. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

