Book Review: Hourglass (Hourglass #1) by Myra McEntire

I use Grammarly’s free grammar check because having bad grammar will not get you cool points with your professor.  We wouldn’t want that, would we?

Author: Myra McEntire

Publisher: Egmont USA

Release date: June 14, 2011

Pages/Format: 390, Hardcover

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

SYNOPSIS

One hour to rewrite the past . . . 

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.

So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may also change her past.

Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should’ve happened? — Goodreads

TREAD CAREFULLY LOVELIES. SPOILERS MAY LIE AHEAD. DON’T SAY I DIDN’T WARN YOU.

Myra McEntire creates an enticing world filled with sci-fi and paranormal elements that will carry you on a fantastic adventure. 

Initial Reaction at the End of the Book: This was pos-it-tute-ly FANTASTIC. I loved every bit of it. From Emerson’s sassy and poignant voice to the swoon-worthiness that is Michael Weaver. Finally, I love the sci-fi and paranormal immersion throughout the story. Unique and utterly addictive.

characters:

Only 20 pages in and I immediately loved Emerson Cole. I loved how authentic her voice is. She reminded me of well…me. Except, I’m not as sarcastic or sassy as she, but my friends may disagree. I loved her sarcastic wit. I also loved that she is feisty. Especially, when it concerned the irresistible Michael Weaver. GAH. I LOVED HIM SO MUCH. ASDFGHJKL. 

Emerson’s voice is compelling. Her feelings are true and normal.  I loved that she didn’t have a filer and said what was on her mind. She’s also stubborn and strong in her own way. I also sympathized with Emerson. For  and felt like she would be a girl I’d become fast friends with. Lastly, I love her doubt and fearlessness. It makes her real and at times I wholeheartedly wished that I was part of her world.

Finally, Emerson’s character development is flawless. She steadily grows from an anxiety-ridden teenage girl to a fearless and nononsense badass time….

(I can’t say…it’s an epic spoiler. I’m trying to be good here).

An added bonus was Michal Weaver.

HAVE I MENTIONED HOW MUCH I LOVE HIM?

Michael is…just swoon worthy. Trust me. From the moment we meet him, he is unbelievably irresistible. Not in the I’M-HOT-AND-I-KNOW-IT kind of way, but in the I’M-SWEET-BUT-STRONG-AND-CAN-KEEP-UP-WITH-YOU. I mean, who could resist that?

Okay, okay. I promised myself no fangirling, but I CAN’T HELP IT.

*breathes*

Michael is an integral part in Emerson’s story. He helps her with her ability. He ensures that she’s not crazy which is what she believes she has been for the passed 4 years. I love that Michael reassures her, believes in her, and ultimately offers an explanation for her gift. He’s also charming, witty, and incredibly mindful and respectful. Do you see why I love him?

Other mentionable characters are Thomas (Emerson’s brother), Dru (Thomas’s wife), Lily, and Kaleb. I loved them all SO much. They were important secondary characters, in my opinion. They offered a semi-normal-balance and challenge in Emerson’s life. The dynamic relationship between these characters was also something that I thoroughly enjoyed reading throughout the story.

world-building:

Myra McEntire creates an enticing world filled with sci-fi and paranormal elements that will carry you on an fantastic adventure. Her use of “superpowers” and mix of time travel is uniquely creative. Also, an author who references Doctor Who immediately has an A+ in my book.

I loved that McEntire immersed sci-fi with paranormal elements. It was different and it worked. She created a plausible reason for why these specific people that had gifts.

Aside from the sci-fi and paranormal elements weaved into the story, the world itself is like ours. There are just certain people who are gifted and are badass.

I wish I was that 10%

romance:

the romance was one of my favorite parts about this novel! I shipped Emerson and Michael from the get-go. Their attraction for each other was electric. Literally. They of course, had to go through a bit of a rough patch. The whole I-LIKE-YOU-BUT-THIS-CAN’T-HAPPEN-BETWEEN-US bit. Michael had his reasons for staying away from Emerson, while Emerson was told to not to confuse the physical chemistry between emotional feelings. Their relationship was…complicated (that’s Michael’s favorite word btw). It was frustrating and I just wanted them to kiss for the longest because they WERE MADE FOR EACH OTHER.

When it happens, it’s like:

I loved Emerson and Michael’s relationship with one another. They bantered on occasion. She never once let him get away with being a typical guy (i.e. bossing her around ect.) She gave him grief if he did so. To me, that shows an incredibly strong female character. Tis why I loved Em.

writing style:

The writing was fantastic. I loved the witty dialogue, the flow of words on the page, and the amount of foreshadowing carefully crafted throughout the story. Some of my favorite lines were displayed by Emerson. The immense amount of sarcasm her character emits is awesome. There is no better word to describe the epicness that is Emerson Cole.

I couldn’t believe he worked for a place called the Hourglass. Fifty-year-old bespectacled men with paunches should work for the Hourglass. Not a prince too gorgeous to be walking around with the peasants.

I punched him in the stomach. Hello six-pack.

I felt great. The sass was back. It’s amazing what flipping a grown man over her shoulder does for a girl.

‘Right now the earth could fall off its axis, and I wouldn’t give a rat’s behind.’

‘You would be of no use to me dead.’ Although I couldn’t breathe when he touched me, so I guess it all depended on who kicked the bucket first.

Those quotes don’t even compare to the amount of stickies I used to remember my favorite parts. They are just a few ;D

finale:

The ending had me reeling and pushing to do back-flips of glee (if I could) all at the same! It was bittersweet and it was only sweetened because of Emerson and Michael. Words were exchanged and it was just so…..beautiful. It made the hopeless romantic in me appear for just a heartbeat of a second.

Hourglass was purely brilliant. McEntire creates vivid and authentic characters (you can’t help but love them); her world building is unique, creative, and offers a different perspective to gifts and time-traveling. It’s a definite must-read and I still cannot believe I left it sitting on my shelf collecting dust for as long as I had.

I  loved how McEntire tied together the story well. The last couple of chapters were action-packed and disheartening! I was a little worried there for a minute. I would have cried for my babies!

There were a few strings left untied, but that opens the door for it to be resolved in the sequel or last installment. I hear this is a trilogy, which just made me happy as a clam! I LOVED this and I highly recommend it to all you bookish fiends. I’m positive you’ll fall in love with the dynamic characters and riveting story. If not, then I give you reign to come back and beat me with a shoe.

…and the final final verdict? Hourglass is deemed a well deserved 5 cupcakes!

addy5star

Emma

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. YES! One of my favorite books ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply
    • I want to read the entire series! I wish I was a millionaire so I can just buy all the books in the world!

      Reply
      • I know! I would just buy a giant library and fill it with books. I’d probably shove a bed in the corner, but it would be bliss ❤

  1. Goodbye October, Hello November | Books Forget Me Knot
  2. Guest Interview: Yveta Germano And Her Teenage Sensation “Bring Me Back” | alexcordnews
  3. Goodbye October, Hello November | Books Forget Me Knot

Leave a Reply

