Goodbye October, Hello November

Another month has gone by just as quickly as the foliage changes color. This is my favorite time of year. The air is crisp, cool. The days are warm; a nice and welcome change from the suffocating heat that comes with summer.

I hope everyone had a wonderful and splendid October! Mine was mediocre. Other than working like a slave, the month was lackluster at best.

I do have a slight few favorites for the month, though! As always, my monthly favorites consist of favorite books, movies, shows, beauty products, ect.

First up on the plate…

Favorite Book(s)

Houglass by Myra McEntire. I cannot express my complete and utter FEELS for this book. It was FLAWLESS PERFECTION. I loved Emerson Cole to a T. I also fell in love with Michael Weaver; not that I needed another book boyfriend, but yano – THESE THINGS HAPPEN. My absolute favorite thing about Hourglass was the fact that it mixed sci-fi and paranormal elements together. The outcome and is mind-blowing adventure full of startling truths and revelations.

To check out my full thoughts on Hourglass, go forth and click here. Fair warning: it’s full fangirlness.

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini. My second favorite book of the month was a modern retelling of the Iliad. Awesome, right? I’ve had this book on my shelf for months and never once picked it up. It wasn’t calling to me, but after some coercing from friends I grabbed it…and fell. Hard. I fell in love with Angelini’s writing. She weaved a beautiful and action-packed story surrounding these classic tragic characters. It’s unique and wholly imaginative.

Favorite Music

By far my favorite song of October was Closer by Sara and Tegan. It’s just a really fun song you can dance to! You bet I danced or wiggled around in my seat when it came on the radio. I actually went and downloaded their entire album and it’s pure genius. I love it and it is currently on shuffle.

 

A very close second is Hallelujah by Safety Suit. I know, I know. I have mentioned this song before in a previous monthly favorites post, but can you blame me? His voice is so ASDFGHJKL. It’s flawless. I wish I could sing this. MUST PRACTICE.

 

Favorite Movie

Carrie

The modern adaption of the 1976 classic was reimagined into one of my favorite horror adaptions of the year.

A reimagining of the classic horror tale about Carrie White (Chloë Grace Moretz), a shy girl outcast by her peers and sheltered by her deeply religious mother (Julianne Moore), who unleashes telekinetic terror on her small town after being pushed too far at her senior prom. — IMDB

I thought that Chloe Mortez delivered an emotional and jarring performance. Julianne Moore was…scary-crazy-good. Then there was the charming Ansel Elgort. I am sold on him being Augustus Waters. Her performance in Carrie MADE ME FALL IN LOVE WITH HIM.

Anyways, let’s move on from how flawless and charming Ansel is…

The movie itself was very much the same as the original. It was just…a little more gory and full of awesome effects. I also emphasized with Carrie a lot more in the modern adaption than I did in the classic.  Lastly, the role of Sue Snell was integrated more into the modern adaption, which I thought was nicely done.

Favorite Show

Once Upon a Time

…and it’s finally back! With a new season in full effect, OUAT is SO GOOD. In case you aren’t caught up with episodes, I won’t spoil any thing 😉 Just know that it’s bloody brilliant as always with broad story lines that are full of secrets, suspense, and surprises!

Favorite Beauty Product

EOS Lip Balm

This month…I bought an EGG. Finally. I’ve been wanting one of these fun and colorful lip balms for months. I just thought they were cute and fun, never really knowing if the product worked. But it does! I personally own the red EOS balm. The scent is fruit punch and smells delicious. I could eat it. Literally.

I love the feel and smell of the balm on my lips. It’s soft and silky. I’ve also noticed a difference in the texture of my lips in the past month. Definitely recommend this lip balm! It’s a little pricey, but worth it.

Favorite App

OkCupid

Ah. The perils of online dating. It’s quite an adventure. I think I could write dozens of blog posts about the crazy things that I’ve gone through. But it’s not all bad. I’ve met some really good guys, though I’ve only gone on one date and that turned out to be a complete FAIL.

OkCupid is probably one of the safest and least obscene dating site I’ve ventured into. It has a series of questions the user answers in order to have a high possible match with another. Some of the questions get really personal while others test intellect. The site also matches you with people who live in the same area with the possibility of meeting.

Online dating is nothing new in the modern age. I decided to try it out because I wanted to possibly meet a guy who could be more than just a friend. But well, it’s harder than it seems. You always have to be careful with who you give personal information to and make a judgement on the other person….like deciding whether they are a crazy, psycho stalker…or not.

If you do take the chance to meet someone in RL (real life), take wary steps. Bring pepper spray! Make him meet your parents. (That’s a sure fire way to make sure he’s legit. Trust me). And lastly and most importantly, meet in a public place.

*Note: I just wanted to mention the above safe guidelines I use in case anyone ever does make that next step.

I’m actually really excited about the current guy I’m talking to. We’ve been talking for a couple of days and not once has he asked me for my number to text. To me, that’s a great sign. The guys I’ve given my number to have just stopped talking like communicating outside the site is completely forbidden or not worth the effort anymore. But Kevin (that’s his name, guys!) is…seems (?) different. I like him and hopefully things go well! If not, then I guess I will continue to fall in love with fictional characters.

||

…and the final curtain call falls. That’s all folks! Hope you all had a lovely October! Remember, if you have your own monthly post, don’t be afraid to leave a link down below! I’d love to check them out 🙂

I’m hoping that November is even better and full of fun adventures and hot chocolate!

P.S. I have not picked a winner for the SIGNED copy of The Raven Boys. Stay tuned for that announcement!

Emma

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

