Goodbye November, Hello December

This post is actually a few weeks overdue. See, I lost my internet again. Then, my laptop crashed. Yeah…I haven’t had the best of luck these passed few weeks. But I do not fret because it’s DECEMBER. The time of year where we hope all our wishes come true! It’s that time of year where we’re all struggling to find that perfect gift for our friends and family. I know I am. And with only one week away from Christmas the pressure is on.

As always, this is a monthly feature where I share my favorites for the month. In this case, I’ll be sharing my favorite book, movie, show ect of November! I hope that November air treated you all well. It sure brought me a dash of unexpected, but great surprises.

So without further ado, first up is…

Favorite Book

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I absolutely adored this book! It was a cute story about family, fanfiction, and first loves. Our MC Cath is obsessed with all things Simon Snow. As she transitions from high school to college, she learns the highs and lows of her passion, while learning to balance school, her sister Wren, and her roommate’s assumed boyfriend, Levi.

I related to Cath on so many levels. My boyfriend even says that he sees certain qualities of Cath in me. Yep. That’s right! I got him to read it! I related to her most when it came to her passion of writing and her love of fictional characters. I believe that anyone who has every cared for fictional characters – to the point that they are real – would love this story.

A brilliantly written coming of age story that is thoroughly engaging and vividly deep. A story that is as close to a road map of my soul.

Lastly, isn’t the cover beautiful? It’s simple and vivid, capturing the essence of the story so well.Β 

Favorite Music

Coldplay is no stranger to my favorite artists of all time. I honestly had never heard The Scientist by them until I heard it play on Pandora. It played once, then it played twice, and by the third time I was absolutely in love. What I love about the song is the melodic lyrics and tune. It’s beautifully haunting. Just the way I love my music.

 

Favorite Movie

Catching Fire

Without a doubt, my favorite movie in November was Catching Fire. This was one of my most anticipated movies of the year. It was BRILLIANT. BEAUTIFUL. IMAGINATIVE. There was nothing wrong with this adaption in my book. It was just…FLAWLESS.

I think that the director did a fabulous job in directing CF. Why? Well, the movie followed the book pretty darn well. The camera work was superb. And the actors…ASDFGHJKL. The casting for Finnick and Joanna was PERF.

I know I am totally fangirling here, but bare with me.

I know that there was a lot of mixed reviews for Catching Fire. I LOVED IT. I’ve read the entire series, and I believe that CF was BETTER than THG. The production had a much bigger budget, which accounted for it’s awesomeness. Plus, I liked that it was easy to follow for people who have no clue what the movie is about.

All in all, this was a magical concoction. I loved Jennifer Lawerence as Katniss. She portrays her character so well. Her acting made me cry…TWICE. Then there is Josh Hutcherson who plays the ever charming Peeta Mellark. He’s…*sigh* NO WORDS. Everything about it was just WELL DONE.

I highly recommend going to see this movie if you have not gotten a chance to do so! IT. IS. EPIC.

Favorite Show

The Following

When I was in California, I watched the entire first season in 3 days. I was immediately HOOKED by the amazing story line, suspense, and plot twists. The show follows Ryan Hardy (Kevin Bacon) who is called in by the FBI as a consultant when a serial killer known as Joe Carroll (James Purefoy) escapes prison with the help of his cult followers.

That’s how it all starts. The plot develops with a handful of antagonists, Joe Carroll being the central “villain.” What I liked about this is the immersion of Edgar Allen Poe’s dark literature work. It plays a prominent role in Carroll’s acts and justification of murder.

The thing I love about this show is that YOU CANNOT TRUST ANYONE. There were so many plot twists that kept me on the edge of my seat, wanting more.

I need Netflix to put the second season up already!

Favorite 50th Special Event

The Day of The Doctor

Okay, so this needed it’s own special category. For anyone who doesn’t know, I am a huge Doctor Who fan. So much so that I went to see The Day of The Doctor at the cinema! The episode aired on Saturday, November 23, 2013 but it showed in select theaters the following Monday.

The most exciting thing about this was seeing David Tennant come back on the show and play our beloved Tenth Doctor. It truly was a great sight to see him work along side Matt Smith (Eleven) and John Hurt, who plays the War Doctor. We also saw the return of Billie Piper in an unexpected role.

The 75 minute special was full of humor, action, and timey wimey…stuff. It was AWESOME.Β  The amounts of relative time travel and space adventure was out of this world. As always, it all made absolute, maddening sense.

The episode was also bittersweet as it painfully reminded me of Matt Smith’s soon goodbye in the Christmas Special, airing in 7 days.

Anyone else see the 50th special? If so, what did you think?!

||

Well, that’s it for now! Hope you all had a lovely November and are having a fabulous December! Remember, if you have your own monthly post, don’t be afraid to leave a link down below! I’d love to check them out πŸ™‚

As it seems, December is almost through. Can you believe it? A year…almost gone by! I’m hoping to have one or two posts up before the year ends. Wish me luck!

P.S. I STILL have not picked a winner for the SIGNED copy of The Raven Boys. Stay tuned for that announcement!

Emma

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love this month’s reflections! πŸ˜€ The Scientist is one of my favourite Coldplay songs (if not my favourite) and I’m so happy you like it as well. Also, can we just talk about how awesome you are (and very persuasive) to get your boyfriend to read Fangirl? I have trouble getting my friends to listen to my favourite song. xD

    Reply
  2. I’ve seen that book Fangirl on the shelf before, and now I’m definitely adding it to my to-read list. By the way, I love the way you punctuate your thoughts with these humorous gifs and pictures. A well done blog! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

