Simply Sunday #6

simply sunday

Simply Sunday is a reading meme hosted by Books For a Delicate Eternity. It’s where you share your favorite quote; be it from a book movie, novella, song, ect.

My favorite quote this week is from George R. R. Martin, author of the infamous A Game of Thrones, the first book in his Song of Ice and Fire series.

The most important thing for any aspiring writer, I think, is to read! And not just the sort of thing you’re trying to write, be that fantasy, SF, comic books, whatever. You need to read everything. Read fiction, non-fiction, magazines, newspapers. Read history, historical fiction, biography. Read mystery novels, fantasy, SF, horror, mainstream, literary classics, erotica, adventure, satire. Every writer has something to teach you, for good or ill. (And yes, you can learn from bad books as well as good ones — what not to do).

Why I Chose It

As an aspiring writer I like that Martin suggests reading. And not just what genre I like writing, but everything. That’s where I fail. I mostly read YA books because…well, I can identify with them the best. Although, I have read books that are not YA like The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley, which is historical fiction, set in the time of King Arthur. It took me about 2 weeks to read the book because it was massive! But I enjoyed it nonetheless. I also love classics like The Great Gatsby, A Tale of Two Cities, and Frankenstein.

I want to become a diverse reader, reading middle grade and science fiction and fantasy. The last two I’ve read in the YA genre, but I have not crossed over to the land of adult fiction. I want to read Stephen King book and be utterly terrified and awestruck by his writing. I want to read more classics. I want to read more children’s books. I want to read…everything. I want to learn something from everything I read, even the bad ones that I’ll teach me what not to do.

It’s wanting vs. doing that has me at a standstill. I need to stop wanting and just make it into a reality. That’s what I’m going to do this summer. Work on my diversity in reading and hopefully I’ll achieve it.

So, what are your thoughts about George R. R. Martin’s advice? Let me know down in the comments!

Got your own Simply Sunday? Leave a link down below! Or if you don’t, let me know what was your favorite simple thing this week 🙂

Emma

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I think that’s awesome advice. I, too, need to work on my diversity as a reader. I’m so in love with the YA genre, though. I do like some classics, though, and middle grade 😀

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Sophie's blog….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

