Book Review: Into The Still Blue (Through The Evernight #3) by Veronica Rossi

Author: Veronica Rossi

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release date: January 28, 2014

Pages/Format: 392, Hardcover

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

SYNOPSIS

The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do–and they are just as determined to stay together.

Within the confines of a cave they’re using as a makeshift refuge, they struggle to reconcile their people, Dwellers and Outsiders, who are united only in their hatred of their desperate situation. Meanwhile, time is running out to rescue Cinder, who was abducted by Hess and Sable for his unique abilities. Then Roar arrives in a grief-stricken fury, endangering all with his need for revenge.

Out of options, Perry and Aria assemble an unlikely team for an impossible rescue mission. Cinder isn’t just the key to unlocking the Still Blue and their only hope for survival–he’s also their friend. And in a dying world, the bonds between people are what matter most. — Goodreads

NO NEED TO WORRY OF SPOILERS. IT IS ALL CLEAR UP AHEAD! YOUR WELCOME.

I’m grateful for this series, for it’s originality and ability to take me on an adventure that I will surely not forget.

Initial Reaction at the End of the Book: A thrilling and unbelievably beautiful ending to an unforgettable story.

First, can we talk about the gorgeous cover? AH. I LOVE how Aria and Perry are BOTH making an appearance together. It’s PERFECTION and beautifully shadows their journey for the Still Blue.

Into The Still Blue was a month long journey, a time that I desperately did not want to end. I tend to get like this, distracting myself from finishing the last book of a series because I simply do not want to let go of the characters I’ve grown to love and see as friends.

So, I slowly read and engulfed myself in the beautiful and perilous world of Into The Still Blue. The world that Veronica Rossi has created is simply magical and captivating. It’s like nothing I have ever read in my life! It’s original and imaginative, not to mention, realistic. Sure, it’s a dystopian sci-fi novel (as I like to categorize it), but it does not mean that it cannot happen in the distant future.

That’s what I like about good dystopian novels – that they make you think of it’s possibility.

In the final installment of this trilogy, Aria and Perry race against the aether to find the Still Blue, a place that is untouched by the aether that threatens to consume all that they love. The adventure is what I deeply love about this novel. There is never a moment that is…unconventional or is used as a filler to occupy a couple of pages. Everything has a purpose. From composing a plan to infiltrate Sable’s compound to the stolen sweet moments between Aria and Perry; everything is meaningful.

I loved the little moments that Aria and Perry could share, which were not many. But that’s why I treasured them. Because they used the small frame of time they had with one another and made the best of it. I also loved the moments of friendship between Roar/Aria and Perry/Roar. I loved that I could smile even when things were at there worst. They had hope, which in turn, made me have hope in them.

The authenticity between the characters was simply…

I liked how Rossi’s characters are not two-dimensional. An array of feelings are conveyed in every single character and I love that. I love how Aria breaks down at one point, I love how Roar hurts, his pain seeping through the pages of the book. I love how Perry withdraws…I love every single thing that was felt while reading. A great writer makes you feel and that’s what Veronica Rossi managed. She made me feel for these characters and I love her for it.

I will always remember how bittersweet the ending was for me. It left me…sad and happy. I literally finished reading on my trip at WonderCon this pass weekend. I was in bed and I just smiled, reading the last sentence. I closed the book and felt…sad – because it’s the end – and happy – because everything turned out better than I could have hoped.

I’m so grateful for this series, for it’s originality and ability to take me on an adventure that I will surely not forget; for characters that left a mark on my heart, and for hope in finding my Still Blue.

 

If you have reservations about picking up this series, I will end all doubts here. If you’re looking for something original, engrossing, and fast-paced this is the book for you! You won’t be disappointed in where it takes you, and if you are feel free to come back and yell at me. Seriously.

…and lastly (in case you couldn’t guess) the final verdict? Into The Still Blue is deemed a well deserved 5 cupcakes!

addy5star

Emma

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I just got Under the Never Sky from the library and am happy to know you liked this series. Now I’m more confident about reading it đŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. This series is awesome. I really loved this boo but book 2 was my favorite. I just love Roar and he was in that so much!

    Reply
  1. Goodbye April, Hello May | Books Forget Me Knot
  2. Mid-Year Book Freakout | Books Forget Me Knot

Leave a comment

  • Get my posts in your inbox!

  • Currently Reading

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Follow My Tweets!

  • Disclaimer

    © 2014, Emma @ Books Forget Me Knot. All rights reserved. This site is protected by Copyscape. Please do not copy content. Thank you!