Goodbye June, Hello July

Ello lovelies! I hope you all are having a fantastic start of the week! I luckily had the day off after an unremarkable Fourth of July weekend. But it did rain…actual RAIN. It rained so much that the sidewalk flooded in my apartment complex. It was a beautiful sight to behold as Vegas does not get rain often.

What’s your favorite part about rain?

The rain this pass weekend definitely has to be one of my favorite things that has happened so far this month. For June, there are quite a few things that I absolutely adored. For May, it was quite uneventful – which is why I didn’t do post a May Monthly Favorites. May was rather dull and filled with homework, work, and doctor’s appointments. BLAH.

Anyways! I will chatter away if I do not get started πŸ˜€ As always, my monthly favorites consist of things I absolutely adored in the previous month (in this case June) as I welcome the new month.

FAVORITE MUSIC

Ed Sheeran has once again captured my heart with his lovely voice. If you have seen The Fault in Our Stars in theaters, you will surely have heard this song playing at the credits. I’ve actually cried multiple times upon hearing this song because it is the epitome of what the book stands for. I just….I love it.

FAVORITE SHOW

Salem

This is one of those shows I watch religiously. Since it’s premiere in April, I have watched every single episode the following Monday on Hulu – thanks to Anna from The Writer Diaries.

Set in the volatile world of 17th century Massachusetts, ‘Salem’ explores what really fueled the town’s infamous witch trials and dares to uncover the dark, supernatural truth hiding behind the veil of this infamous period in American history. In Salem, witches are real, but they are not who or what they seem. – WGN

The thing I absolutely love about Salem is the sense of realism the show portrays. I like how the Protestant’s fled Britain in order to have religious freedom, yet they condemn anyone who is not like them. It is hypocritical, yet true to that time. I also love the lore of witches. The show mostly portrays the evil in witches. They have yet to explore the good side of witchcraft, which I thought they might in one specific character. But that unfortunately is not going to happen. Maybe? Possibly? I don’t know. I seem to theorize what may happen, but am often wrong.

I also really REALLY love the acting. I love Shane West, who has played in Nikita and is the infamous Landon Carter in A Walk to Remember. I love how he is strong and brave and is self-righteous. Then, there is Janet Montgomery, who had a guest role in Merlin, and now plays Mary Sibley, the town’s most powerful woman. I also love Seth Gabel (Cotton Mather) and (Tamzin Merchant (Anne Hale). I even like Elise Eberle (Mercy Lewis) for her amazing performance thus far. I think the show has a great cast full of actors we know and some we are not familiar with. But they make a great show full of lies, betrayal, mystery, and witchcraft.

If you love historical retellings, then Salem is a show for you. I’m really hoping that the season isn’t over just yet. Just give me a few more episodes WGN!

FAVORITE MOVIE

The Fault in Our Stars

This movie was irrevocably incredible. There are so many words, so many feels. Bottom line: The movie was everything I wanted. I wish I could say how I felt watching it without going into a terrible mess full of rambles and tears. I had my doubts concerning Shai and Ansel, but they portrayed Hazel and Augustus so well that it hurt. By the end of the movie, I was a blubbering mess, while my friends and I just sat their as the credits rolled, crying our eyes out.

The film was a YA movie adaption done at it’s absolute best. Better than that. It was…

 

FAVORITE BEAUTY PRODUCT

Julep Oxygen Smoothing Base Coat

Where has this been all my life? I love how this particular base coat, drys like a matte finish in seconds! No more waiting for that pesky base coat to dry in order to paint your nails. By the time, you are done coating your opposite hand, the first hand is dry and ready to go! Who wouldn’t love that?

I’ve notice that my nails have been growing quite fast (faster than usual) since I’ve started to use this base coat. My nail polish also lasts a lot longer (about two weeks) if I do not chip it away. (Nasty habit). If you love painting your nails like I do, I highly recommend this base coat. It’s a bit pricey ($18 on sale for $7) but it is well worth it!

FAVORITE EVENT

American Library Association (ALA)

20140707_180749

Two weeks ago, I was fortunate to go to the biggest book convention hosted in Vegas. I wasn’t sure what to think. I definitely did not expect to walk away with 100+ books and ARCs. I also did not expect to meet wonderful publishers, librarians, authors, and bloggers! I had so much fun, while simultaneously being sore and tired from carrying books.

I now have so many books that I have no idea where to put them. They are still unfortunately in their designated bags awaiting to be put on shelves (whenever I can acquire them).

The thing that surprised me was that everyone I bumped into (which is a lot as I am prone to be clumsy) were really nice and forgiving. I liked that because in Vegas people are not typically like that. You bump into someone and you either get a) dirty looks or b) yelled at for not being more careful. So it was a nice a surprising change to what I am used to.

My 5 top favorite most anticipated books are:

Black Ice by Becca Fitzapatrick

Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini

Falling into Place Amy Zhang

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

||

June came and went like spring. It didn’t seem entirely there and by the end it was gone completely. July is proving to be the same. We are already in our second week! Where does the time go? Soon enough it will be the end of summer break :O

What were your favorite things in June? Let me know down in the comments below! Or if you have your own monthly favorites post, be sure to leave a link!

xx

Emma

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Ahh, I’ve missed your posts, Emma ^.^ Salem sounds really interesting. I’ll have to see if the episodes are still up on Hulu! This June I discovered the show Witches of East End and I’m so in love with it. I’ve been catching up with it on the Lifetime website, but finished season 1 on Hulu, because Lifetime has a lot of glitches on their site >.<

    I still haven't seen TFIOS D: But I've been hearing lots of great things about the adaptation, so I'm sure it was great πŸ™‚

    That's so awesome that you got to go to a huge book convention! I've never actually been to one, but I've been to a few author signings πŸ˜€ Hopefully I can go to a large book convention soon!

    Reply
    • I’ve been kinda wanting to watch Witches of East End, but I am so iffy about it! I don’t know….Lifetime is slow. I want to watch Lizzy Borden! Cause I love stuff like that πŸ˜› Have you watched Flowers in the Attic?

      Shel, you need to watch TFIOS! It is a MUST.

      I would suggest going to ALA next year! It’s in San Fran. And it’s fairly cheap for the event! I want to go to BEA but that is so expensive.

      I miss you too! I get emails of your stuff and just read them on my phone, but never go to site and like them >.<

      Reply
      • I’ve never seen Flowers in the Attic. I just looked it up, thoughβ€”it seems interesting!

        I knooow! I’m probably going to watch it when it comes out on DVD (and I can shed my tears in private).

        I’ll definitely have to look into ALA. I have my heart set on BEA one day, haha, but I assumed it was an expensive event >.<

        Aw, that's okay! It's always good to read one of your posts πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

