Book Review: Pawn (The Blackcoats Rebellion #1) by Aimee Carter

Author: Aimee Carter

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Release date: November 26, 2013

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

SYNOPSIS

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister’s niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There’s only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that’s not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she’s only beginning to understand. — Goodreads

GO FORTH LOVELIES. THERE ARE NO SPOILERS TO BE WARY OF. YOUR WELCOME.

An e-galley was provided from the publisher through Netgalley for an honest review.

First, I’d like to comment on the cover. It is beautiful! I love it’s simplicity and the detail depicting Kitty Doe’s initial III and the pawn piece on the right-hand corner. I also love the semblance of Kitty’s eye within the intricate circle disk. Kudos to the designer of the cover.

I read Pawn within a span of a few months because 1. I read my kindle whenever I am running errands and 2. I lost (misplaced?) my kindle. I recently found it last Sunday and picked up reading where I left off.

I found Pawn interesting with it’s dystopian world. In Kitty Doe’s world, when you reach the age of sixteen you are given a test that ultimately decides your role in society. Only those who are of intellect have a decent life, while the Hart’s are the only ones who are deemed at VII – elite status and the governing force for America. Those who earn a III or lower are cast off in society with low wage, trivial jobs or sent Elsewhere to be hunted like animals and slaughtered. But in the shadows, there is a rebellion to overthrow the Hart’s and their power.

What I really liked about Pawn was the never ending lies and deceit. Mystery was laced in every chapter and as the reader, we discover those truths along with Kitty. I never seemed to be ahead of the game. I absolutely love that!

Because of the edge of mystery, the story moved along smoothly. The chapters were short and full of cliffhangers. So, it is only natural that I wanted to keep on reading. I wanted – nay – needed to know what would happen to these characters.

As for the protagonist – I liked Kitty. I like that she sacrificed her own will in order to save those she loves. She was also strong mentally. There were things that happened, things that she saw, but she always kept her head up. That is an admirable quality. Then there is sweet, loyal Benjy and mysterious, passionate Knox. When it comes to secrets, there is no better candidate than Knox.

I was afraid of a love triangle, but Carter has not shown an interest in that trope. Hopefully, it does not come to pass! Between Benjy and Knox, I don’t know who’d I pick. But I loved them both. Maybe I loved Knox a little more because he appeared in the book more than Benjy. If Carter does not introduce a love triangle between the three of them (Kitty, Benjy, Knox) then I will be happy. A girl and a boy could be friends without having the possibility of a romance. Am I right?

Speaking about love, there was actually a lack of it. There were a few sweet moments between Benjy and Kitty, but that was not a main focus. The absence of love was also seen between the Hart family, which despised one another. Augusta, who is the Prime Minister’s mother, was ruthless and cold. Then, there is Celia who sought revenge for the death of her family, and whose role in the rebellion was more than anyone could have guessed. And then, let’s not forget the Prime Minister himself, who has a few secrets of his own. Lastly, there is Greyson who wants nothing to do with the sick game his family plays. He is the only character who is loved in the family. But they sure do have a funny way of showing it. *hint hint*

Overall, I really liked the aspect of this book.  I found the world interesting and sad all at the same time, yet cast societies do exist in the world today. Even in America based on my sociology and anthropology studies.  – I have never read anything by Aimee Carter and had a good experience with her work. The writing and world was solid, while keeping me engaged the entire time; flipping the pages like a maniac. But it left me…indifferent. I don’t know how to explain it. It was good and I would read the second installment, but…there was just something about it that leaves me blank.

Please do not take my word as holy. It was a good dystopian and I liked it. I recommend it to those who like the genre in YA. Like I said, it was a pretty fast-paced read that kept me wanting more, which deems it 3 cupcakes!

addy3star

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

