Mid-Year Book Freakout

I first stumbled upon this survey from Chiara over at Books For a Delicate Eternity. I read it and it’s such an amazing idea from Cami and Ely  over at A Book So Fathomless. The Mid-Year Book Freakout is a time where you can be a complete fangirl over the books you’ve read so far in the year. Fun, right?

So, without further ado…here is me fangirling…

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2014.

I think I will have to go with Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead. I read it entirely in one sitting. It was AH-MAZING!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2014.

Insurgent. No doubt.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

Four by Veronica Roth. I love him and I need to read more about him so I can love him even MORE.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

THE RETRIBUTION OF MARA DYER. IT’S BEEN TWO YEARS MICHELLE. I NEED THIS. I NEED IT NOW.

5. Biggest disappointment.

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang. I thought I would love this. Friends who received an ARC said they loved it…and I just…I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. It made me angry most of all.

6. Biggest surprise.

Silver Shadows. Most definitely. I mean, have you guys read it?! *runs into a wall* #DEAD

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Aimee Carter. I really enjoyed Pawn. Makes me want to read more of her work!

8. Newest fictional crush.

Adrian. Seriously. I loved him in Silver Shadows. I just…he’s giving Dimitri a run for his money. *sigh*

9. Newest favourite character.

Aria from the Under The Never Sky series. She’s a trooper! She’s courageous and brave and I admire her so much for it.

10. Book that made you cry.

City of Heavenly Fire. It’s the only book that has made me cry this year. I cried in front of my boyfriend for heaven’s sakes. He didn’t know what to do with me.

11. Book that made you happy.

It’s a tie between City of Heavenly Fire and Silver Shadows.

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year. 

The Fault in Our Stars. No competition.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year.

I’m really proud of this one.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

Wildwood by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis. It’s a middle grade beautiful illustrative piece.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I need to read The Retribution of Mara Dyer, Trial by Fire, and Infinite Sea by the end of this year. Or I might just die of utter shame.

Emma

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Omg this is great, I’m totally doing it! And I agree about Silver Shadows but to me Adrian gave Dimitri a run for his money since he showed up in Frostbite (: ♡

    Reply
    • Bahaha right? I just….I’ve always loved Dimitri and started falling for Adrian in Bloodlines. But this recent follow up was amazing and I’m totally swooned by Adrian 😀

      Reply
  2. Aarati

     /  August 22, 2014

    My friends keep telling me to read Mara Dyer and I keep telling them I’ll read it once the final book is out. Looks like its a good decision.
    I participated in this too.

    Reply
  3. EEEEEEEEK. I just read the first two Mara Dyer books, and I NEED The Retribution of Mara Dyer now! I’m just glad I didn’t read these books two years ago. I don’t know how you have survived, darling! At least it is coming in November 😀

    Oh gosh I pre-ordered City of Heavenly Fire, and I still haven’t read it. I am awful. But it’s so big, and I don’t want to take an age to read it, so I’ll probably read it when I’m finished with uni for the year. Which is only another two months away – HURRAH!

    I still haven’t read Fiery Heart, which means I definitely haven’t read Silver Shadows – which means I AM SO BEHIND ON BOOKS, EMMA >.<

    Reply

Leave a Reply

