Goodbye August, Hello September

 

Summer is over. At least, I hope it is! I’m reading for Fall and September is the start of the beautiful season! It’s where leaves turn from green to all sorts of different browns, the air becomes crisp and chilly, and where light sweaters are socially acceptable. I can’t wait for it. How about you?

August was pretty darn amazing! I read a lot, which made me a very happy camper. I also spent lots of time at an arcade with Kevin and discovered a number of awesome beauty products! As always, this post highlights my favorites from the previous month (August) as I welcome in the next month (September) with open arms!

So, let’s get started!

Favorite Book

From the six books that I read in August, my absolute favorite was A Blind Spot for Boys by Justina Chen. It’s raw and beautifully written, filled with authentic characters and an unbelievable setting. This isn’t my first by Chen, but like North of Beautiful, A Blind Spot for Boys left me feeling like a new person who has learned a precious life lesson. You learn the lesson along with Shana Wilde, embarking on an adventure of self-discovery in Machu Picchu. After Shana has had a rough breakup, she officially is on a Boy Moratorium. That is, until she meets Quattro and he challenges Shana’s pact and what it means to be truly loved.

What I loved about this book was the fact that it was centered around romance without feeling like it was too much. It was just…perfect and I think everyone should read this book! It was the perfect ending to my summer contemporary reading.

Favorite Music

So umm…you guys already know my love for Ed Sheeran. This month his beautiful voice captured my heart once again with his song from his new album. I’m a Mess is currently still stuck on repeat.

Favorite Show

Criminal Minds

Criminal Minds isn’t something new. It’s been around for years! Recently, it was added to Netflix. Cue the marathon rewatch! I’ve been nonstop watching this show since mid August. Whenever I have spare time I sit and watch an episode or two. Most of them I’ve seen, especially the first season. But it doesn’t matter because it’s addictive and stirs my emotions. I’m currently on S2 and almost done! I want to get to the point where I haven’t seen the newer episodes. I’m also excited to see Jennifer Love Hewitt in the new season coming this fall!

Favorite Movie

Guardians of the Galaxy

The opening scene for Guardians of the Galaxy had me in tears and then it had me laughing with it’s light humor and a dancing Groot (no doubt you have all seen it circling the interwebs) at the end. It was filled with action packed adventure, amazing character relationships, and a wee bit of love.

If you’re a Marvel fan, I highly recommend seeing this movie!

Favorite Beauty Product

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter

I have never been a lipstick kind of girl, but lately I’ve been tired of just plain old lip gloss. I was told that when I got older, at some point, I would begin to stray from lip gloss because it’s sticky and does not moisturize. Well, that was true. With that in mind, I decided to try Revlon’s new lipstick line, Colorburst Lip Butter’s. I absolutely love them! Not only is the packaging beautiful, but they are moisturizing and pigmented.

Because of it’s expensive price ($7-$8),Β  I only bought 1 lipstick in the 001 Pink Truffle shade. It’s a nude shade with a deep pinkish-brown color. The lipstick is also easy to apply without being too smudgey. I’m definitely a fan and I can’t wait to pick out another shade soon!

Favorite Place

Press Start Gaming Center

Have you ever seen those underground lounges for gaming and are coffee shops? Well, Press Start Game Center is just like that! Minus the coffee. It’s a fairly decent size arcade with arcade games like DDR, ITG, and Pac Man! The place also has a dozen+ computer screens with gaming systems that any gamer would love.

I’ve never been exposed to this kind of thing. Kevin, on the other hand, loves this kind of thing. And it’s because of him that I’ve started to really like ITG, which is an American Dance Game similar to DDR. I’ve never been good at DDR, but in the last month I’ve gotten better at it! Slightly. I’m better playing the game on the computer πŸ™‚

||

What were your favorite things in August? Let me know in the comments below! Or if you have a monthly favorites post, don’t be shy and leave a link! I’d love to read it!

I hope that September is another great month filled with lots of reading and ITG! I AM TOTALLY OBSESSED. I plan on finished Miss Peregrine’s Home of Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs and definitely read The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey when it comes out on the 16th! My love of all things sci-fi and supernatural has returned! πŸ˜€

I also plan on being involved in a 30 day writing challenge that I found!

Lots of great things to come. Hopefully!

xx

Emma

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Can’t go wrong with Ed Sheeran! Guardians of the Galaxy is by far my favorite movie of the summer! πŸ™‚ Great post!

    Reply
  1. WWW Wednesday #4 | Books Forget Me Knot

Leave a Reply

