Goodbye January, Hello February (2015)

feb2

Ello lovelies! We can officially cross of a month into 2015. It’s been a rather productive month. Kevin and I took a trip to L.A., school began, and I read more than I thought I would.

As always, my monthly favorites consist of my favorite books, movies, shows, music, ect. Anything goes! I have quite a few favorites thisΒ  month so I apologize in advance if I ramble on too much.

Hope you enjoy!

Favorite Book

15513156Of Triton by Anna Banks. I’ve been wanting to read the sequel to Of Poseidon since I finished it in 2013. Why it took me so long? I don’t know. I tend to have a very long TBR list and neglect books often :(. Anyways, I am so glad I read Of Triton this month! It reminded me of Emma’s spunk (which I love), Galen’s charm and need to protect those he loves, Rayna’s impulse, and Toraf’s cleverness.

The book itself had an interesting story line. It was full of love and adventure. I practically devoured it in a two sittings.

I can’t wait to see where the next book takes me. I hope I don’t wait another two years to pick it up though πŸ˜‰

Favorite Music

My most recent favorite Maroon 5 song is Sugar. The music didn’t help much in my obsession with theΒ  band. I absolutely loved it and hope they’ll crash my wedding someday.

 

Favorite Show

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D

In January, I binged watched the entire first season of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. I didn’t know what I would expect and I was pleasantly surprised!

So what is Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.?

After the Battle of New York, the world has changed. It now knows not only about the Avengers, but also the powerful menaces that require those superheroes and more to face them. In response, Phil Coulson of the Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division assembles an elite covert team to find and deal with these threats wherever they are found. With a world rapidly becoming more bizarre and dangerous than ever before as the supervillains arise, these agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. are ready to take them on. — IMDB

I’ve been a comics fan since I was a kid. I don’t read comics (I wish and it may be something I pick up this year) but I am a fan of movies and t.v. shows. I also love D.C. as much as I like Marvel. I was a little late to the S.H.I.E.L.D parade, but it is always better to be late than never. Am I right?

I really liked the story line of the show and absolutely love how story lines from the Avengers and Captain America interlace within the show. There are references here and there about Thor and Cap (I love it when they say Cap). There was even an appearance of Lady Sif from Asgard. Pretty cool, huh?

Not only is the story line amazing, but so are it’s characters! The motley crew are a band of different sort of characters. There is strong and meticulous Melinda May, computer hacker Skye, brainiacs Fitz and Simmons, deadly Grant Ward, and ring leader Phil Coulson. Their character dynamics are quite extraordinary and it is a sight to watch them evolve within each episode.

There are so many twists and turns. Especially, those last few episodes of the season where you are like:

Dean is so distraught.

If you have yet to watch this show, I highly recommend it. It’s fun, action packed, and full of suspense you won’t be able to stop yourself from going into the next episode.

Favorite Beauty Product

Nourish Organic Eye Cream

I have really horrible dark circles. I don’t wear foundation or have found a good concealer that works with my skin tone. When I got my Ipsy bag for this month, I received a sample of Nourish Organic’s Eye Cream. And OH.MY.GOD. This stuff is pure heaven! I really like how it smooths out my skin around my eyes. It also has lighten my dark circles a tad.

The formula used is natural. The two main ingredients are avocado and argan oil, which help replenish and hydrate the skin.

This retails at 19.99 on the website and is totally worth it if you are a person who wants to reduce the sight of dark circles.

Favorite App

Trivia Crack

Similar to Quiz Up, Trivia Crack is a family and user friendly app that tests your knowledge on history, art, entertainment, science, geography, and sports. The objective is to be crowned in all six genres within a game between an opponent. (See those six cute animations? You have to win all of them within a match.)

You can play with friends from Facebook if you chose to link your account or you can select random opponents from around the world! It’s quite fun and addicting. Plus, it challenges your knowledge on six different genres. In the end, you become a well rounded person by knowing historical, art, sports, [ect.] facts.

If you want to add me on Trivia Crack my username is @lenastarkov. You get cool points if you know what character I am referencing!

Favorite Place

Little Tokyo

When Kevin is off for vacation we tend to go somewhere. Living in the city can be draining, especially when there are a few fun things to do like explore Mt. Charleston, scale the heights of Red Rock, and act like tourist down at the Strip.

We spontaneously (I say spontaneously because we decided to go on the trip the night before) took a trip down to Little Tokyo in L.A. for a night/day adventure. The drive was long and we were lucky we did not get stuck in rush hour traffic in L.A. A good thing is that Little Tokyo resides on the outskirts of L.A., so traffic was more than pleasant.

We started our morning off bright and early with complimentary breakfast at the hotel. Then, we set out on our adventure – driving to Little Tokyo and walking the area that consisted of 4 blocks. We should have checked the weather forecast as it did rain while we were there. But it was light rain and we didn’t get sick πŸ˜‰

I probably spent more than I should have and walked away with some special gems like a manga of The Wolf Children, adorable pens, a jade necklace, and a cute bowl with a cat on it (I should have bought a dozen of them since I use it for storing purposes ;).

I also had exquisite Japanese cuisine.

||

I absolutely loved January! It was a great start to the new year. I’ve kept up with my new year’s resolution of cutting back soda and exercising. It’s nowhere where I want to be, but I am making an effort. There is a lot of stuff I didn’t do that I told myself I would so I am going to try to aim those goals for February.

I hope that this month is just as great as last month! This will be my year! πŸ™‚

What were some of your favorite things in January? Let me know down in the comments! I’d love to hear all about them! ❀

Take care and have a wonderful month,

Emma

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. You should try Agent Carter, it’s on Hulu and it’s really really good.

    Reply
  2. One of my favorite things about January is simply that it’s the start of a new year. The little kid in me loves the magical feel of having a new slate.

    Otherwise, some of the ups have been:
    * Clearing a few books off my To Be Read list.
    * Starting a new section in my novel-in-progress.
    * Finding a stable writing partner.
    * Completing an article for my favorite local rescue group.
    * Hosting a new writing club at school.

    Hmm, seems as if those all have to do with writing. Well, January is also a great time to stay inside and get lots of creative stuff done. πŸ™‚

    Little Tokyo sounds fun! Isn’t it fun purchasing souvenirs?!

    Reply
    • I love having a new beginning to a whole new year too! Those are some really good writing/reading goals! Are you buying books this year or are you NOT buying books to lessen the TBR pile? I’m in a book buying band because it’s crazy how many books I buy vs. the amount of books I read!

      If you ever need a beta reader, I’m your girl! I love helping out fellow inspiring authors πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. I just heard that song on the radio for the first time yesterday! I need to get back into Agents of SHIELD – I’ve missed too many to jump back in now. You might want to check out Agent Carter – it’s really great!

    By the way, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out here: http://never-anyone-else.blogspot.com/2015/02/versatile-blogger-award.html

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your nomination! I’ll definitely have to check it out and get my butt to writing it out! πŸ˜€

      You could marathon SHIELD like I did on Netflix! I literally watched it for like 2 weeks straight πŸ˜› I’m watching Agent Carter now and I LOVE it!

      Reply
  4. Sounds like a good month! I really should read Of Triton, and my friends adore SHIELD so I should watch that too πŸ™‚ Your trip sounds fun, I’m jealous

    Reply

Leave a Reply

