Film Review: Django Unchained

musings of a writer tres

Here is my first attempt at a movie review! I hope you enjoy! Let me know if you’ve seen this movie. I’d love to read your own thoughts 🙂

||

I had some pretty lofty preconceived notions about Django Unchained. I thought it was a comedic parody along the lines of A Haunted House (a parody of the Paranormal Activity). I, for one, do not enjoy those kinds of movies. I just think they are unnecessarily funny. I love subtlety and those movies do not convey that aspect.

Anyways, what is Django Unchained? Well, let me give you the synopsis:

Two years before the Civil War, Django (Jamie Foxx), a slave, finds himself accompanying an unorthodox German bounty hunter named Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) on a mission to capture the vicious Brittle brothers. Their mission successful, Schultz frees Django, and together they hunt the South’s most-wanted criminals. Their travels take them to the infamous plantation of shady Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio), where Django’s long-lost wife (Kerry Washington) is still a slave.

To my surprise, I ended up enjoying the movie very much. It was not a parody, but a story about a former slave who is offered a deal: to help a man kill criminals in exchange for money. It is one big adventure after another, catching criminals all over the south. Django learns to be an expert shot, while also gaining confidence as a free man. There is one thing that Django wants, though. And that is to find his wife who had been sold to a different plantation owner after their original owners realized they had secretly gotten married. That journey leads them to Calvin Candie and their lives take an unexpected bloody turn.

Dun. Dun. Dunnnnnn.

I found the movie emotionally gripping. I felt sympathetic for Django and absolutely loved Dr. King Schultz, a black sympathizer. I liked how the story was true to the era and made me feel for those who were treated badly due to the color of their skin. It was a horrible time and I am happy for those who were able to be free and start a life anew much like Django.

I also thought that the actors were brilliant! Here are some big shot actors like Jamie, Leo, and Kerry. I remember on tumblr a long time ago a gif where Leo had cut his hand unintentionally during a scene in this movie. He then said he would film regardless. To me, that takes true character dedication. I can’t imagine how those whipping scenes went…how they managed it. Nevertheless, I could see that these actors took great effort to portray their characters authentically.

Lastly, my one grief about the movie was the bloody scenes. It did not look like real blood at all.

If you’ve never heard of this movie I sincerely suggest it! It’s action packed filled with subtle humor and a thought provoking message of fighting for what is right.

All in all, I give this movie…a 5 cupcake approval!

addy5star

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Reblogged this on Indigo Indie and commented:
    Awesome film review, for you guys who haven’t seen Django yet, this is a definite must read!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

