Goodbye February, Hello April 2016 Edition

Hi hi hi! It’s been a beautiful hectic 3 month. Let’s play #CatchUpWithEm 😛

I didn’t do anything extraordinary, but I have been working tirelessly for my future goals. I feel like a new person and I like this person who is busy, fun, and productive. I’ve started bullet journaling to keep track of tasks and personal goals. I’ve integrated exercise into my life, though, I do not do it every day. I go 3x a week and I’ve never felt more alive and healthy! I’ve also been trying to write every week part of the 52 short stories in 52 weeks challenge that I’ve personally signed up to do! Lastly, towards the end of January I got an opportunity for a freelance writing job. That is going splendid!

January brought the beginning of the Spring semester. I have loads and loads and more loads of reading which is already drowning me in a sea of perpetual speeches and projects. Joy. I try to find time to do the things I love like reading Lady Midnight! Though, I am a turtle and only half way through the novel. I’m avoiding spoilers from the interwebs 😛

Overall, it’s been a wonderful 3 months full of self-discovery and new adventures! Before I go on to a jumble of words, as always, here are the things I enjoyed immensely in the winter.

Favorite Books

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. My friend Remy over at Ramisa the Authoress wrote about her love for Oscar Wilde and his book Dorian Gray, which quickly prompted me to go out and buy a copy of it. I instantly fell in love with Wilde’s beautiful prose and thought-provoking ideas of aestheticism and duplicity. I’m only halfway through the novel and am enjoying it immensely. It’s an easier classic to read without being lost in flowery writing.

Also, a shout out to the lovebird who also recommended this book to me a year ago!

Favorite Music

My brother introduced me to Jon Bellion and it was love at first listen. I currently have “Run Wild” playing on repeat.

I’ve also been loving Years and Years. I discovered this beautiful band while surfing YouTube one late sleepless night. I bought their album the next morning and I sing my heart out while I drive to school and work. My favorite song from their album so far is “Worship.”

Favorite Movie

Zootopia

Do I even have to explain this? DO I? If you haven’t gone to see this powerful and adorable movie, what have you been doing with your life? Zootopia is about Judy Hopps, a bunny who dreams of becoming a cop and moving to the big city of Zootopia, where all kinds of animals live in peace and harmony. Something threatens this peaceful community and it is up to Judy and Nick Wilde, a con artist she blackmails (hehehe ;), to solve the mystery.

I’m afraid to spoil this wonderful movie so I will just say that it is truly amazing! If you have the chance to go and watch it go, go, go! 🙂

Favorite Accessories 

Nike Juvenate Sneakers

At work, the company finally let us wear sneakers and my feet couldn’t have been happier! I splurged a lot in these shoes and don’t regret it at all. Treat your feet to good comfy shoes.

Normally, I wouldn’t pay more than $20 for my shoes. These retail at $90. That is a huge difference. I needed good shoes, though, as I have been suffering from horrible back pain that doctors deem is my sciatic nerve. The shoes have greatly improved my physical state. They act as a multipurpose shoe. I can wear them to work, school, and the gym!

Bear Paw Hiking Boots 

In my journey to be healthy, I’ve been hiking as much as I can. I’ve gone once a week with my best friend or the lovebird. After realizing that my Sketcher sneakers were not good shoes to hike (I kept slipping and sliding on rocks and fell a handful of times :O), I bought a pair of hiking boots. They were an impulse buy because I never planned on buying them until I saw them on sale at Big 5. Normally retailing at $60 and I bought them 50% off! 😀 I’ve worn them once to Red Rock and hiking has never been easier!

The picture to the right are similar to the ones I bought, but are not the same brand.

Favorite Beauty Product

Organic Surge Overnight Sensation Night Cream

For the last month and half, I have been using this night cream after I shower or wash my face with soap or a scrub. It’s done wonders to my skin. I feel like my skin is a lot smoother and looks healthier. The healthy part may be due to me eating a little better. I’ve notice a change in my skin tone as well. It’s evened out quite a bit, but that may also be a product of a new sun screen lotion I’ve been trying.

All in all, I really love this product. I bought it Marshalls at half the cost. It retails for $17.49 and I am kicking myself for not buying another jar.

Organic Surge is a really great company as they do not test on animals. Their products are also suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

||

How has the year been treating you? Let me know! I dearly do miss you all! Hope all is well 🙂

Much love,

Emma

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Emma! What a fabulous post. ❤
    I'm so incredibly honoured you chose to read The Picture of Dorian Gray… but more so that you're enjoying it! Please let me know your thoughts after completion ❤ (rather, I'll be on the lookout for a new review 😉 )
    And congratulations on your healthier lifestyle! Emma, that requires so much motivation to both begin & sustain, so I want to congratulate you on your perseverance.
    AND ZOOTOPIA. OH MY GOSH. SO INCREDIBLY AMAZING, and while it's fun to watch, also incredibly complex. A wonderful model of social constructions, gender roles and racial discrimination (depending on what lens you viewed it from). Incredible. ❤

    Reply
    • Remy! I will most definitely let you know once I’m doing reading it! I put it on hold for the time being, but I definitely want to finish it before the summer! I completely agree with everything you said about Zootopia! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

