Goodbye October, Hello November 2016 Edition

Hello lovely people of the interwebs! It’s been awhile – like two months too long! A lot of wonderful things have happened between August and now. It’s been challenging, but in the same regard, positively rewarding. The semester is nearly over and I’m managing A’s in all of my classes; a feat I am really proud of  🙂

As far as reading and writing, I’ve done a lot of the former. I’m only five books away from completing my Goodreads challenge! I’ve been writing poems here and there, mostly about love and wonder – that moment where everything changes and the world looks new.

Before I get a little ahead of myself, below are my favorite things for the past couple of months.

Favorite Book

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. In a coming of age story, Noah and Jude navigate the treacherous waters of life. The story is told in two alternating timelines. Noah’s chapters are of the past, while Jude’s is of the present. I love the beautiful lyrical writing style that Nelson uses to capture what it means to grow. I was instantly captivated by Noah and Jude, and while I read I forgot about my surroundings. To me, that is what makes a book positively mesmerizing and unforgettable. I laughed. I cried. I had my heart broken and put back together. This book is everything I expected and more. I highly recommend I’ll Give You the Sun to be at the top of your TBR pile.

Favorite Music

I may be a little late onto the band wagon, but I’ve fallen in love with the 1975. One of my favorite songs from their self-titled album is Heart Out.

Favorite Show

Reign

Season 3 on Netflix was just updated recently and I quickly immersed myself back into Mary’s world. A lot of people have conflicting feelings about this season because well…death. It comes back around with a vengeance.

The overwhelming emotion that plagues Mary is heartbreaking. The inevitable death that hangs over Francis comes true, but with twists that are sure to leave the viewers satisfied. Mary surrounds herself with a frenemy as her rival across the sea, Elizabeth, seeks ways to destroy her.

What I liked most about this season was the growth of Mary. There is one specific scene towards the end where she commands power and strength.

I honestly can’t wait to see what the next season brings! There are rumors about it being the last season and if it is…well, if you didn’t know – Mary dies at the hands of her cousin, Elizabeth. To see how the network unfolds the last few years of Mary’s life will be interesting.

If you’ve seen the latest season of Reign, what do you think of the season and of what is ahead?

Favorite App

PvZ Heroes

This is a new app in the Plants vs Zombie world using playing cards to attack the opponent. Users can play both the Plant or Zombie and whichever one you play is the hero of the story.

I think this is a unique way to view the “there’s always two sides of the story” concept. The more you play, the more you uncover new playing cards and heroes. There’s also comic strips before each match! There is an incredible amount of detail in this game and if you like PvZ then you’ll definitely like this spin-off game!

Favorite Drink

With the weather getting cooler, and the days growing shorter, a pumpkin spice frappuchino is what I like. I also can’t survive without water lately 😉

||

I hope your November is cozy, warm, and filled with happiness!

Stay groovy,

Emma

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

