What Makes Me Happy

musings of a writer tres

2016 has been a year of heartbreak. We’ve lost beautiful souls, been broken by the election, and have been affected by the mass onslaught of deep rooted hatred towards poc. This post was inspired by Reagan @ PeruseProject and is an effort to look at the good things in life that simply make me happy.

It is important to be happy, but it is also important to act. We must not dwell on the bad and if we choose to do so, then bring about change. Speak up if you see someone being threatened because of their gender, sex, color, ect. Do not sit idly. Do not go gentle into that good night.

Below is a list I’ve accumulated of things that make me happy.

  1. Tea. Any kind of tea, but it has to be loose leaf with a tsp of rock sugar for a little bit of sweetness. My favorite kind of tea is from Teavana.
  2. Books. It wouldn’t be a proper list if I didn’t mention that I love books. I prefer books over flowers πŸ˜‰
  3. Rainy days. The sound of rain is soothing. It makes for a perfect day!
  4. Fluffy socks. With the holiday season upon us, this is a must in my wardrobe πŸ˜€
  5. Mugs. I recently purchased a Narwhal mug from Suko and it is the most adorable thing on the planet. I love cute animated mugs!
  6. Hot chocolate. One of my favorite things to look forward to when fall and winter come around!
  7. Sweaters. I wish I could wear them all the time!
  8. Running shoes. I’ve gotten so used to wearing them all the time that any other kind of shoe hurt my feet >.<
  9. Pens. Since the beginning of my college career, I use nothing but pens. I love collecting all types!
  10. Candles. My favorite scents are coconut and cotton candy. I don’t like holiday scents…sorry.
  11. Bookmarks! One of my favorite shops on Etsy for these bookish items are CraftedVan and ReadandWonder.
  12. Yoga pants. Does this need an explanation???
  13. Stars. I love looking up at the sky at night. One of my favorite things to do is drive up to the mountain at night and look at the sky in all its glory; away from all the city lights that dampen the beauty of nature.
  14. Loved ones. I love every single person that is part of my life. My family, friends, and boyfriend.
  15. Hiking. I love being out in nature and challenging myself in new feats by hiking difficult trails.
  16. Swimming. When I was little I used to pretend I was a mermaid. I still do.
  17. Nail polish. I’m a little bit of an addict when it comes to this. All I need now is some holo nail polish because I am a #holosexual.
  18. Netflix. After long days of school and work, this little gadget is there for me to watch whatever my heart desires. I just finished The Flash and OMG. LOVE.
  19. Doctor Who. One of my favorite shows ever. I also love the cast and will follow their work to the ends of the earth.
  20. Fur babies. I love animals. Dogs, cats, rabbits, hamsters, ect. I often go to the animal shelter with my boyfriend to play with the dogs and cats. I wish we could take them all home. But alas, I am mildly allergic.

Spread the happiness! Share some of the things that make you happy πŸ™‚ Lastly, remember to always have courage and be kind.

xx

Emma

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

