Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

Author: Maggie Hall

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Release date: January 13, 2015

Purchase from Amazon | Barnes & Noble

synopsis

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.

SPOILERS MAY LIE AHEAD DEARIES. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. YOU’RE WELCOME.

I never thought that I would enjoy audiobooks and now it’s become an obsession. The Conspiracy of Us is the second audiobook that I’ve listened this month per my library’s collection. I was completely immersed with the rich culture that surrounded Avery – from Boston to Paris and Paris to Istanbul. That was one of my favorite things – that this story’s main setting is in Europe. The language is riddled with beautiful prose and metaphors, giving me a deeper insight to Avery’s newly discovered life and the consequences of that life to an ancient prophecy.

Avery’s life is turned upside down when Stellan, a keeper for the Dauphins I deeply apologize for butchering names as I have to go by ear and not text, one of the 12 families that form the Circle, shows up at her prom. Jack, a keeper for the Saxons, is also there and has been collecting Intel on Avery for nearly a semester. Avery is more comfortable with Jack and trusts in his judgement and it is only after his advice that Avery agrees to go to Paris with Stellan.

As the story progresses, Avery discovers an exquisite, lavish, and powerful world that is hidden from the rest of humanity. The Circle is made up of 12 families who have a hand in governing society, controlling the media, and closing down Prada for private appointments. At first, Avery is skeptical and she thinks that everyone is crazy and part of a conspiracy theory, and I loved that quality of her. She questions everything and isn’t a naive character. She is also willing to risk her life for someone else’s, which shows how deep her loyalty runs. I also liked how she breaks down – it is a raw emotion, especially because everything is too much. She is only seventeen years old, yet practically bears the fate of the world on her shoulders.

Then, there is Jack, who I found to be sweet, protective, and trustworthy for the most part. I liked Jack better than Stellan because we did get more of him throughout the story whereas Stellan was only in the book for about 20%, but I imagine he will be included more in the sequel BECAUSE OF THE ENDING! :O  Jack became Avery’s greatest ally while she was thrust into this other world of secrets and murder (yes, this is a heavy topic throughout the course of the book). Also, did I mention he was British? That is enough to woo me! 😉

I also should mention Luke and how he played a significant role in one of Avery’s closest ally’s. Luke saves Avery by setting her free and that is all I am going to say *hums*

I was so captivated by Julia Wehlan’s narration that I found myself gripping my steering wheel during action-packed scenes and startling revelations. Her voice depicts each character greatly and it was easy for me to follow the dialogue as well as the beautiful writing.

A lot of questions are answered throughout the progression of the novel, like what the ancient prophecy mandates, but there are also many questions left unanswered that I hope will be explored in the sequel!

I highly enjoyed listening to The Conspiracy of Us and l found it fresh and imaginative. I highly recommend listening like I did or reading. Whichever way you chose, you’ll be immersed in a beautiful world with equally vibrant characters.

 addy5star

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I have only ever tried one audiobook and I got to about 50% and never continued >.< I don't know why, but I just kept on falling asleep every time I tried to listen to it. Maybe because it was James Marsters' beautiful voice? I'm not sure.

    I remember seeing so much about this book when it came out! I always intended to read it but I just forgot about it 😦 I really like the sound of the setting, and I love not knowing who you (or the character, I guess) can trust, and it sounds like this story has that element in it.

    I really hope you like the sequel as much as this one, lovely!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

